Switch Theme:

Tactician and Turrets  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife




The Internet- where men are men, women are men, and kids are undercover cops

With a YT-1300, Decimator, or YT-2400, Tactician says "If you make... inside your firing arc." Does this mean that one of these ships can use it against anything thy shoot, since their "arc" is 360 degrees?

 Jon Garrett wrote:
Perhaps not technically a Marine Chapter anymore, but the Flame Falcons would be pretty creepy to fight.

"Boss, we waz out lookin' for grub when some of them Spice Marines showed up and shot all the lads."

"Right. Well, did you at least use the burnas?"

"We tried, but the gits was already on fire."

"...Kunnin'."
 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






No. Ships with a turret still have an arc printed on their base, and use it whenever a rule checks if a ship is within their arc (shooting secondary weapons, outmaneuver, etc). The only thing the turret primary weapon does is allow the ship to make attacks outside of its arc. So, since tactician requires the target to be within the firing ship's arc, it can only be used in the ~90* forward arc and does not apply to out-of-arc shots.

(Note that since the Firespray has two primary weapon arcs tactician works in both of them.)

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in gb
Battleship Captain




No, it doesn't. It has a primary weapon arc and an 'auxiliary arc' - so pointedly, for example, you can't fire a heavy laser cannon out of your backside.

But the rest is correct. Whilst turreted ships can fire 360', their 'arc' still exists and is relevant for anything which requires you to be in arc (like tactician or secondary weapons) or opponents to be out of arc (like outmanouvre or Backstabber's pilot ability)

Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
 
   
 
Forum Index » Atomic Mass Games (Star Wars & Marvel: Crisis Protocol)
Go to: