Switch Theme:

Combining Formations and Detachments  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Sioux Falls, SD

So with the new Blood Angels Codex being out, and a buttload of Formations and Detachments coming out, what happens if an Independent Character from one joins the other? For example, You run the Baal Strike Force Detachment (which grants a number of things, but +1I is the one I am after) and the Angel's Wrath Formation. The BSF has an Independent Character. You attach him to a unit from the Angel's Wrath (which, if I remember right, does not gain the +1I). Does the IC lose the +1I or does the unit he attached to gain it?

5250 pts
3850 pts
Deathwatch: 1500 pts
Imperial Knights: 375 pts
30K 2500 pts 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Depends on the wording of both.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator



Chicago, IL, USA

Usually what happens in this situation is that the game breaks and we get a 12-page thread in this forum arguing back and forth on the definition of of the term "unit" in the context of the special rule(s) in question.

Without closely reading the rules in question, HIWPI would be to not allow an IC to benefit from both formation rules at once, because to do otherwise would effectively make him a member of both detachments at once.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Creeperman wrote:
Usually what happens in this situation is that the game breaks and we get a 12-page thread in this forum arguing back and forth on the definition of of the term "unit" in the context of the special rule(s) in question.


No. You're wrong. I need you to give me a page number and paragraph stating exactly what a unit IS or you don't really have any "units" on the table during a game.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: