Switch Theme:

Unit wiped, IC survives, still First blood?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Frenzied Berserker Terminator





Canada

Played a game last night by myself and I had an instance where all my termies got smoked in CC before striking, but the attached IC survived. Did this award first blood or did I have to kill the attached IC? The rules say treat the IC and his unit as one uni for all purposes. Was I right to not award the VP?
   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners





Would you have awarded the VP if the IC had died and not the unit he was attached to?

3000+
6000+
2000+
2500+
2500+
:Orks 5000+ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





The unit is wiped out but not IC = first blood.

exceptions: if the unit+IC formed a unit that could not seperate during the course of the game e.g. skytyrant, green tide.

   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

This is only confusing as many people over look the timing involved:
The first unit, of any kind, to be completely destroyed during the game is worth 1 Victory Point to the opposing player at the end of the game.
We score First Blood at the same time as every other Victory Point in the game... when it is over.

At the time of scoring, the end of the game, the Independent Character in this situation will have long reverted back to it's own Unit as per the Independent Character Rule.
This means the Terminator Unit no longer have a 'living member on the table' at that point in time, likely becoming the first full Unit casualty of the Game.
At the end of the Game, the opponent is awarded First Blood.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/12/19 17:13:08


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in fr
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation





Calixis sector / Screaming Vortex

JinxDragonn wrote:
This is only confusing as many people over look the timing involved:
The first unit, of any kind, to be completely destroyed during the game is worth 1 Victory Point to the opposing player at the end of the game.
We score First Blood at the same time as every other Victory Point in the game... when it is over.

At the time of scoring, the end of the game, the Independent Character in this situation will have long reverted back to it's own Unit as per the Independent Character Rule.
This means the Terminator Unit no longer have a 'living member on the table' at that point in time, likely becoming the first full Unit casualty of the Game.
At the end of the Game, the opponent is awarded First Blood.


Wait, but what about maelstrom?
Don't you score in game then?

CSM
Militarum Tempestus
Dark Angels (Deathwing)
Inquisition 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Independent Character special rules (page 166):
If an Independent Character joins a unit, and all other models in that unit are killed, he again becomes a unit of one model at the start of the following phase.
So this is only a problem for Maelstroms that require units destroyed in the assault phase (such as Blood and Guts). However, if you count "The End Of Your Turn" as a phase (page 17 - Turn Summary) then no problems exist, otherwise the character is still part of the unit until your opponent's movement phase.

HIWPI - TEOYT counts as a phase, and the IC is a separate unit again, thus counting the other unit as completely destroyed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/20 11:17:06


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




darkcloak wrote:
Played a game last night by myself and I had an instance where all my termies got smoked in CC before striking, but the attached IC survived. Did this award first blood or did I have to kill the attached IC? The rules say treat the IC and his unit as one uni for all purposes. Was I right to not award the VP?


First blood would have been awarded at the beginning of the next phase when the IC is no longer part of the unit. This would only really matter if you killed his unit in CC as well, leaving only the IC alive. In which case you would have gotten FB due to the wording on IC rule.

   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I agree with Quanar for How I Would Play It.
The Authors created the sub-phases for a reason, so lets ignore not their existence.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: