Switch Theme:

Bolt Pistol Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi I have been playing 40k with some of my friends recently, loving the new Blood Angels so far and this argument has just came up:

My friend says Basic CCW with a Bolt Pistol means you can fire the bolt pistol before going into assault but you lose the +1 attack for having fired the bolt pistol prior to charging.

Is this true?

If so can anyone point out where this rule is in the rule book, I have been looking through and its nowhere near the actual pistol section if it is in this book, I have both the 6th 7th and Shield of Baal rulebooks handy but all of them have the same wording, so I am assuming my friend has just misinterpreted the rule, if anyone can clarify this I would be grateful!
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Your friend is wrong.
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Thank you!
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

For the sake of clarity, and possibly to help with the discussion with your friend:

Your friend MIGHT be applying the rules for weapons with more than one profile on page 41. "Some weapons can be used in different ways, representing different power settings or different types of ammo. Some weapons can be used in combat as well as shooting. Where this is the case, there will be a separate line in the weapon's profile for each, and you can choose which to use **each turn**". (asterisks mine)

Your friend may believe that since you chose to use the shooting profile of the pistol, you must use that for the rest of the turn. Normally he would be correct, but pistols are not affected by this rule due to their wording. They do not have multiple profiles to choose from.

-p.42: "pistols are effectively assault 1 weapons. A pistol also counts as a close combat weapon in the assault phase". It always counts as a close combat weapon in the assault phase, there is no choice of profiles involved. Even if you were not in combat during the assault phase, your pistol would still be a close combat weapon for that phase.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Wait a sec, if pistols count as a CCW in the assault phase then for intents and purposes, it is a CCW. Which would mean that models with just a pistol would not be able to fire Overwatch.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





 Happyjew wrote:
Wait a sec, if pistols count as a CCW in the assault phase then for intents and purposes, it is a CCW. Which would mean that models with just a pistol would not be able to fire Overwatch.

"A pistol also counts as a close combat weapon in the assault phase". The pistol doesn't stop counting as an assault 1 weapon, it counts as two things at the same time, hence "also" instead of just "counts as". If it said something more like "a pistol becomes a close combat weapon..." it'd be different, but such is not the case.
   
Made in us
The Marine Standing Behind Marneus Calgar





Upstate, New York

IIRC in previous editions (back in 3rd?) you didn’t get the extra attack if you shot before charging. That hasn’t been the case for a while though.

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 kingbobbito wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
Wait a sec, if pistols count as a CCW in the assault phase then for intents and purposes, it is a CCW. Which would mean that models with just a pistol would not be able to fire Overwatch.

"A pistol also counts as a close combat weapon in the assault phase". The pistol doesn't stop counting as an assault 1 weapon, it counts as two things at the same time, hence "also" instead of just "counts as". If it said something more like "a pistol becomes a close combat weapon..." it'd be different, but such is not the case.


Derp. Too much driving, followed by too much alcohol, followed by not enough sleep. I withdraw my argument.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

It did sound like a plausible mistake, I can easily see Game Workshop making it.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






 Nevelon wrote:
IIRC in previous editions (back in 3rd?) you didn’t get the extra attack if you shot before charging. That hasn’t been the case for a while though.

Trial Assault Rules in 3rd, IIRC. I'd have to dig up my old Chapter Approved book to be sure, though.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: