Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/06 19:00:21
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Commoragh (closer to the bottom)
|
Ok so quick clarification. If you roll a 2-5 on the chart, does the model get 1 save to stop the D3 or a save for EACH wound from the D3?
|
Wyzilla wrote:Saying the Eldar won the War in Heaven is like saying a child won a fight with a murderer simply because after breaking into his house, shooting his mother and father through the head, the thug took off in a car instead of finishing off the kid.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/06 19:47:16
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Save for each wound.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/06 20:14:58
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Save once to stop the whole result
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/06 20:15:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/06 20:30:49
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
Can either of you show a rule backing your position?
|
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/06 20:39:41
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Commoragh (closer to the bottom)
|
well for each hit you roll on the chart.... so that wound does more wounds; I was told that you have to roll for each D3 wound you get from the chart, But that does not seem right.
I thought you save the first Wound, to stop the ripple effect of wounds, Doesnt that make more sense?
|
Wyzilla wrote:Saying the Eldar won the War in Heaven is like saying a child won a fight with a murderer simply because after breaking into his house, shooting his mother and father through the head, the thug took off in a car instead of finishing off the kid.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/06 20:40:01
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Looking at it again, it looks like non vehicles get to save each wound and vehicles get one save to stop all of it (since its only one penetrating hit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/06 20:47:55
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Say you roll a 3. How many saves do you normally take against 3 wounds? Does anything in the D Weapons rules tell you to resolve those saves differently.
(Answers are 3 & no for those that can't be bothered to read the rules).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/06 20:58:57
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
|
ONE save roll for D3 wounds. Please, read rules before posting.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/06 21:05:38
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
What in the Destroyer rules modifies how many saves you take? (Remember that you take saves against wounds not hits).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/06 21:31:40
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
"Suffers a hit that wounds automatically"
So a single hit that wounds. That would be one save only.
"and causes it to loose D3 Wounds instead of 1"
Further reinforced, following normal procedure it would loose 1 wound, as it states. One wound one save. It then becomes multiple wounds.
I know Fantasy has a mechanic for Mulpitple Wound weapons, I'm sure 40k has similar.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/06 21:47:36
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
40k has no such rules for a single save vs multiwound hits. It becomes d3 wounds. You take saves vs wounds so D3 saves. Unless you have a rule that modifies how many saves you take. Automatically Appended Next Post: Part of the issue is Destroyer Weapons don't work RaW as you roll to wound against units and the Destroyer table is rolled instead of to wound (so is rolled against units) yet the table refers to models taking effects which is an issue caused by GWs inability to understand the difference between units and models (like for instance PE which effects rolls against units hut is based off model level attributes which causes problems with mixed units).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/06 21:55:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/06 22:24:59
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Loosing a Wounds is somthing that happens as a result of a failed save, correct? It's part of the "Take Saves and Remove Casualties" rule.
We have one hit, that wounds. The destroyer rules say this, as I quoted above. That's the point in which saves need to be taken.
Actually loosing a wound is something done after a failed save. That's the point that our one wound cause it to loose D3 instead of one.
The rule isn't that the hit automatically wounds D3 times, that would mean 3 saves, but that it looses D3 wounds, instead of the normal one, from having failed to save one wound.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/06 22:26:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/06 22:33:38
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Commoragh (closer to the bottom)
|
well the way the rule is worded, it seems vehicles get the save first, then you roll on the chart.
But for infantry , it is different. once you hit roll on the chart, then see how many wounds are inflicted.
Rules say to roll on the chart in start of wounding normally. Is it possible to use the fantasy rules as a "guideline"?
|
Wyzilla wrote:Saying the Eldar won the War in Heaven is like saying a child won a fight with a murderer simply because after breaking into his house, shooting his mother and father through the head, the thug took off in a car instead of finishing off the kid.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/06 22:35:01
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Good point grendel083. Looks like 1 save it is
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/06 22:39:38
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/06 22:50:56
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
Its multiple saves as per RAW.
You have to throw the whole normal "to-wound" phase out since it works completely differently.
The roll to hit works just fine, but after that you have to allocate hits first instead of wounds. This is what was mentioned earlier about D weapons not working RAW. We know the intent however as they were obviously meant to actually be used in the game.
You allocate the hits, then roll on the D-chart for each hit. Each hit (againgst infantry) deals D3 wounds. You must save againgst each wound as normal. There is no multi-wound rule in 40k as nothing other than Instant Death Wounds on Gargantuan monstrous creatures deals multiple wounds in the game and that is a single clearly defined instance.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/06 22:58:37
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
As grendel083 points out it us not "take d3 wounds" but "lose d3 wounds instead of 1" you lose wounds after you fail saves so the d3 does not kick in until after saves (it appears as D weapons are a mess RaW).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/06 23:01:39
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
I disagree.
There's quite a difference between a Wound (the result of a successfull To Wound roll, that must then be saved) and loosing a Wound (the reduction of the Wound stat, after suffering an unsaved wound, which may lead to the model being removed as a casaulty).
The chart refers to loosing a wound. Not not having a wound allocated to it.
Also a single hit which wounds would mean one save, it's only the actual loosing of a wound that becomes D3 instead of the normal 1.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/06 23:52:55
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I agree that it is 1 save for d3 wounds.
The model suffers a hit that wounds automatically and causes it to lose D3 Wounds instead of 1.
- one of the effects from destroyer result
model suffers a hit that wounds automatically
and causes it to lose D3 wounds instead of 1.
normally when wounded we take 1 wound, ie suffer wound reduce wounds by 1.
that is the general rule.
the specific rule for destroyer attacks [which is also an advanced rule..]
states that you lose d3 wounds instead of 1.
so it is interacting with the normal rule of losing 1 and modifying that to d3 for failing the save.
this is not the first instance of models taking more than 1 wound for an failed save, RT had it, the 2nd version of Dark Eldar had it, and for a long time nids implant attack caused 2 wounds per failed save. So historically this is not a new modification of a rule, just one that hasn't been seen for a long time.
edit- to further add to the discussion.
Destroyer hits do not generate a wound pool, so the d3 wounds is not a pool of wounds that is allocated and each saved against, its 1 hit that wounds automatically (1 wound) if save is failed the model loses d3 wounds instead of the 1.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/01/07 02:03:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/07 10:58:49
Subject: Re:Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Grovelin' Grot Rigger
|
If a model fails to save the d3 wounds. Does the wounds go over to the other models in the unit? And if so, does those other models have to take new saves or do they just die?
Say that an Imperial knight with his D-weapon AP2 hits my 5 meganobz squad with two attacks. One d3 attacks makes 1 wound and the other attack gives 3 wounds. How do i resolve this?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/07 11:13:09
Subject: Re:Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Brokk wrote:If a model fails to save the d3 wounds. Does the wounds go over to the other models in the unit? And if so, does those other models have to take new saves or do they just die?
Say that an Imperial knight with his D-weapon AP2 hits my 5 meganobz squad with two attacks. One d3 attacks makes 1 wound and the other attack gives 3 wounds. How do i resolve this?
No the wounds don't carry over.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/07 13:21:37
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
would FNP be treated differently to saves?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/07 13:22:38
Subject: Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
FNP? Against a Destroyer Weapon? Automatically Appended Next Post: Brokk wrote:Say that an Imperial knight with his D-weapon AP2 hits my 5 meganobz squad with two attacks. One d3 attacks makes 1 wound and the other attack gives 3 wounds. How do i resolve this?
Both Nobz would die.
The first due to suffering a single wound (Instant Death), the second due to many wounds with Instant Death. Excess wounds from the second Nob are wasted.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/07 13:26:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/07 13:48:36
Subject: Re:Destroyer Weapons "To wound chart"
|
 |
Uhlan
Dothan, AL
|
Brokk wrote:If a model fails to save the d3 wounds. Does the wounds go over to the other models in the unit? And if so, does those other models have to take new saves or do they just die?
Say that an Imperial knight with his D-weapon AP2 hits my 5 meganobz squad with two attacks. One d3 attacks makes 1 wound and the other attack gives 3 wounds. How do i resolve this?
The two dead.
This is like the other post on here about instant death with the tyranids. When you ID someone, it does not cause additional wounds, but modifies the affects of the wound in question. With the D weapon it would be the same, no additional wounds to spread, but modification of the wound in question to the model in question.
|
I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I've watched c-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate. All those ... moments will be lost in time, like tears...in rain
|
|
 |
 |
|