Switch Theme:

are Tyrant Guard scoring units?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User





Northwich, Cheshire

If a unit of hive guard are destroyed but the tyrant isn't, will my opponent gain a victory point? In this case it was first blood, but given the Tyrant guard aren't a force org slot... I'm confused as to whether they count as a unit?

We can slay the Tyranids on our worlds, blast their fleets from the space, grind their armies to torn and ruined fragments. But their hunger? That is beyond our ability to slay. 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

The Tyrant Guard are still a separate unit. So they are worth something if killed.

Also, Scoring Unit isn't the proper terminology. Scoring unit refers to a unit which can capture objectives, and all units can capture objectives. What you are referring to isn't anything in particular, but again all units are worth stuff if killed.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Let's not confuse terms:

Hive Guard are a Unit, a battlefield entity made up of models (rulebook page 9).

They are a Scoring Unit (i.e. can control objectives) because they are not in the list of things that are not Scoring (page 134 of the rulebook).

Hive Guard are a HQ unit - the fact that they don't take up a slot doesn't change this (more information, pages 119 and 121 of the rulebook).

Now, only the last part am I fuzzy on, as I don't have the Tyranid Codex so I don't know the exact wording - is it still that the Tyrant isn't an Independent Character but has a special rule allowing him to join Hive Guard?
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

I believe the last answer is yes. He is a separate character, not an IC, that must remain with the Tyrant Guard till they all die.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User





Northwich, Cheshire

Cheers guys
sort of, I just conceded a victory point :p lol

Its worded "you may include one tyrant guard brood for each hide tyrant (or swarmlord) in your army. These broods do not take up a force org slot.

We can slay the Tyranids on our worlds, blast their fleets from the space, grind their armies to torn and ruined fragments. But their hunger? That is beyond our ability to slay. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Quanar wrote:
Let's not confuse terms:

Hive Guard are a Unit, a battlefield entity made up of models (rulebook page 9).

They are a Scoring Unit (i.e. can control objectives) because they are not in the list of things that are not Scoring (page 134 of the rulebook).

Hive Guard are a HQ unit - the fact that they don't take up a slot doesn't change this (more information, pages 119 and 121 of the rulebook).

Now, only the last part am I fuzzy on, as I don't have the Tyranid Codex so I don't know the exact wording - is it still that the Tyrant isn't an Independent Character but has a special rule allowing him to join Hive Guard?


LOL, Indeed, lets not confuse terms. Hive Guard are different from Tyrant Guard
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Fragile wrote:
LOL, Indeed, lets not confuse terms. Hive Guard are different from Tyrant Guard
Argh, sorry, I was sure I'd checked that!
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User





Northwich, Cheshire

Yeah my bad on terminology, I'm getting my ear chewed off about orcs. No worries! 3 to 4 by turn two can claw it back

We can slay the Tyranids on our worlds, blast their fleets from the space, grind their armies to torn and ruined fragments. But their hunger? That is beyond our ability to slay. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: