| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/16 10:46:31
Subject: Page reference for measuring distances involving embarked units
|
 |
Imperial Guard Landspeeder Pilot
On moon miranda.
|
Hey, trying to find something, for abilities involving units with a "bubble" of some sort (e.g. Teleport homers on a character) embarked on a transport, is there a passage saying to use the vehicles hull as to measure that, as in previous editions, or do they just not work while embarked? I can't seem to find a rulebook page for that. Can anyone point me in the right direction?
|
IRON WITHIN, IRON WITHOUT.
New Heavy Gear Log! Also...Grey Knights!
The correct pronunciation is Imperial Guard and Stormtroopers, "Astra Militarum" and "Tempestus Scions" are something you'll find at Hogwarts. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/16 11:04:52
Subject: Page reference for measuring distances involving embarked units
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Page 80, dead tree, 2nd para under "Embarking" from sheer memory. Its non bold so easy to miss
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/16 18:17:46
Subject: Page reference for measuring distances involving embarked units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
stating that as a rule granting permission also means any weapon which ignores Line of Sight can hit embarked models...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/16 19:23:53
Subject: Page reference for measuring distances involving embarked units
|
 |
Imperial Guard Landspeeder Pilot
On moon miranda.
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Page 80, dead tree, 2nd para under "Embarking" from sheer memory. Its non bold so easy to miss
Aha cool thanks, got it, very easy to miss mixed in there with all that other stuff
|
IRON WITHIN, IRON WITHOUT.
New Heavy Gear Log! Also...Grey Knights!
The correct pronunciation is Imperial Guard and Stormtroopers, "Astra Militarum" and "Tempestus Scions" are something you'll find at Hogwarts. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/16 19:49:49
Subject: Page reference for measuring distances involving embarked units
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
blaktoof wrote:stating that as a rule granting permission also means any weapon which ignores Line of Sight can hit embarked models...
The rule says "except for shooting"
EDIT: Unnecessary harshness.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/16 19:50:28
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/16 20:17:56
Subject: Page reference for measuring distances involving embarked units
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Bojazz wrote:blaktoof wrote:stating that as a rule granting permission also means any weapon which ignores Line of Sight can hit embarked models...
The rule says "except for shooting"
EDIT: Unnecessary harshness.
Look again. It says "... except for its shooting..."
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/16 20:34:12
Subject: Page reference for measuring distances involving embarked units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ghaz wrote:Bojazz wrote:blaktoof wrote:stating that as a rule granting permission also means any weapon which ignores Line of Sight can hit embarked models...
The rule says "except for shooting"
EDIT: Unnecessary harshness.
Look again. It says "... except for its shooting..."
the rule on page 80 that tells you how to measure distances involving embarked units
If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle’s hull.
the rule also specifically states "to or from" the vehicles hull, which is stating you can use it to measure from the hull to something, or from something to the hull.
Therefore if you believe this is permission to measure from a model embarked on a vehicle from the vehicles hull to something, you also have to agree that it is permission to measure to the vehicles hull from something.
as such certain weapons do not require line of sight, allowing you to hit embarked models if you believe page 80 is permission and not telling you how to do so if you need to because you already have permission.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|