Switch Theme:

when doees a rule trump another rule?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I know its always been said that codexes trump the rule book because they come out after the main rulebook.
But is that always the case even when a new rulebook comes out after the last codex? Or is it always what comes out 2nd?
Even though there's a few examples here's a prominent one that sticks out for me.

CSM codex, typhus 6th edition says "typhus must take his spells from the nurgle discipline".
7th edition rulebook comes out Brand new set of spells come out and the new rule book says "anyone with the psycher rule may take from the demonology"
well typhus is a psycer....since the new rules state her can use daemonology, can he?
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot





Sparta, Ohio

Codex still trumps BRB ... but in friendly games I would say go for it.

Now, we like big books. (And we cannot lie. You other readers can’t deny, a book flops open with an itty-bitty font, and a map that’s in your face, you get—sorry! Sorry!)  
   
Made in au
Death-Dealing Devastator



Melbourne,Vic

Yep, codex trumps BRB. Generally speaking if there's meant to be an exception (ie Typhus taking from Daemonology thanks to the new 7th edition rules), then you'll find something in the Chaos FAQ.

Naturally relying on someone actually thinking to add that to the FAQ, but given that Typhus is a fairly common choice, I think he'd get enough attention to warrant a FAQ correction if he's meant to get Daemonology
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

skolirvarden wrote:
..., but given that Typhus is a fairly common choice, I think he'd get enough attention to warrant a FAQ correction if he's meant to get Daemonology

Given that they still haven't got around to actually making the psychic rules function properly, this is a bit of wishful thinking, to be honest.



The rule isn't as simple as 'codex trumps rulebook'. The rulebook defines it as 'special rule trumps normal rule'... but in general rules heirarchy what it essentially boils down to is that a more specific rule will trump a general rule.

7th edition tells us that pskers gain access to Daemonology unless specifically stated otherwise. So unless Typhus has a rule that specifically says that he doesn't gain access to Daemonology, he does.

 
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot





Sparta, Ohio

He has access to Deamonology but he MUST choose from Nurgle.

Now, we like big books. (And we cannot lie. You other readers can’t deny, a book flops open with an itty-bitty font, and a map that’s in your face, you get—sorry! Sorry!)  
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 OIIIIIIO wrote:
He has access to Deamonology but he MUST choose from Nurgle.


This

Fateweaver had the same problem initially as he also has a special rule that requires him to roll a specific disciplines. He now can roll on daemonology because his special rule was errataed so that he can roll it. But the fact that they had to FAQ it to let him do so proves that he couldn't roll on daemonology at all prior to the FAQ despite having "access" to it from the BRB.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


See the link in my sig (rule #3) for my full explanation of how wrong people often get the whole codex>BRB concept.

With that said, in this case I agree that Typhus' specific rules apply and he can only generate Nurgle powers.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/21 02:38:58


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in au
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker




Australia

The very first part of the Chaos FAQ currently states:
"Various - Psykers
Any model with the Psyker special rule may generate powers from Daemonology discipline in addition to the others listed in their Army List Entries"...

Id say that would let him do it, maybe...I'd certainly let my opponent do it if they wanted..

EDIT: Read the link in the dudes sig above me, "Restrictions always override permissions, where the two conflict. ".....so maybe not eh

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/21 02:40:02


   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

sm3g wrote:
The very first part of the Chaos FAQ currently states:
"Various - Psykers
Any model with the Psyker special rule may generate powers from Daemonology discipline in addition to the others listed in their Army List Entries"...

Id say that would let him do it, maybe...I'd certainly let my opponent do it if they wanted..

EDIT: Read the link in the dudes sig above me, "Restrictions always override permissions, where the two conflict. ".....so maybe not eh


In the interactive digital edition, they went through and added in Daemonlogy to the list of powers that can be taken for each unit entry, but Typhus' entry still says Nurgle only…so there's that.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Slippery Scout Biker





I was just going to come in here to link to that exact thread of yours, yakface... That post, all the way. I hate the "codex > BRB" thing because doing that oversimplifies that most basic of Rules about making rules- in the case of a restriction vs a permission of equal specificity, the restriction takes precedence. "Codex > BRB" should only come into the thought process if the case in point is a contradiction between either 2 restrictions or 2 permissions.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: