Switch Theme:

eldar scorpion s "you have to roll to hit me again rule"  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






this is a question on how everyone is interpreting the RAW on the eldar scorpions rule that anyone who hits it, must roll to hit again in both CC or shooting.

this 2nd to hit roll only hits on a 4+ if the scorpion moved, and a 3+ if it was stationary.

Should things that allow re rolls to hit allow re rolls of this 2nd hit as well?

do things that dont roll to hit, like blasts also have to do this? same with anything that auto hits (ie CC attacks when it hasnt moved, certain powers/effects that auto hit like flamers)

 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




I've not seen the wording. Does it say that you have to re-roll the hit? If it does, remember that you can't re-roll a re-roll.

EDIT: Hang on, Scorpion? Isn't that the super-heavy skimmer? If you're talking about titan-level eldar holofields, it's similar to a saving throw that can never be negated, except that it's in addition to everything else. It really is as simple as it sounds - before you roll for armour penetration or roll on the Destroyer table (whether caused by a shooting attack, CC, autohit, etc), you roll a dice to see whether your attack saw through the distortion/interference created by the holo-field. It's not a roll to hit (and so is therefore unaffected by twin-linked or preferred enemy). It's not a cover save (and so it doesn't matter whether the attack is a template or has Ignore cover; you still roll). It's not an armour save, so it's not affected by AP. It really is a simple roll.

Note: I'm assuming that the cobra's holo-field is the same as the revenant's, as I don't have access to the cobra's rules.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/01/22 21:39:55


 
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






Mallich wrote:
I've not seen the wording. Does it say that you have to re-roll the hit? If it does, remember that you can't re-roll a re-roll.

EDIT: Hang on, Scorpion? Isn't that the super-heavy skimmer? If you're talking about titan-level eldar holofields, it's similar to a saving throw that can never be negated, except that it's in addition to everything else. It really is as simple as it sounds - before you roll for armour penetration or roll on the Destroyer table (whether caused by a shooting attack, CC, autohit, etc), you roll a dice to see whether your attack saw through the distortion/interference created by the holo-field. It's not a roll to hit (and so is therefore unaffected by twin-linked or preferred enemy). It's not a cover save (and so it doesn't matter whether the attack is a template or has Ignore cover; you still roll). It's not an armour save, so it's not affected by AP. It really is a simple roll.

Note: I'm assuming that the cobra's holo-field is the same as the revenant's, as I don't have access to the cobra's rules.


Your assumption is correct. All the eldar supers have the same holo-fields, and it's in addition to saves and applies to any hits.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

It's not a To-Hit roll, it's an entirely seperate roll that can negate a hit on a 4+/3+. Anything which affects To-Hit rolls can't affect thsi.
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






OK that make sense then, thanks guys.


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: