| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 12:19:49
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze on a different target he shot at?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Being Monstrous Creatures, C'Tan are allowed to fire two weapons/powers in the shooting phase, albeit both have to be at the same target. If he uses his Gaze of Death, does this allow a second target to be selected?
I would say yes since the Gaze of Death specifies "...in the Shooting Phase, in addition to using Powers of the C’tan, this model can target one non-vehicle enemy unit...". This implies that this is an entirely seperate attack that does not follow the targeting restrictions regarding number of units.
However, as it's used in the Shooting Phase, does this mean this attack must still follow the Monstrous Creature rules for selecting targets?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 12:21:37
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze on a different target he shot at?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, it isn't a weapon.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 20:13:57
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze on a different target he shot at?
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
It isn't an attack and it isn't a weapon. It is just... a gaze of death. It can pick any non-vehicle enemy unit in his sights(12")
|
It's easy to assume that people arguing an interpretation you disagree with are just looking for an advantage for themselves... But it's quite often not the case. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 20:25:49
Subject: Re:Can the Nightbringer use Gaze on a different target he shot at?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Can't believe they left out the "Spectacles of the Star Gods" to correct Nightbringers short-sightedness and increase the range to 24"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 23:08:13
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze on a different target he shot at?
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
Lisbon, Portugal
|
Would Gaze be able to target FMCs and Flyers? As they can only be hit by attacks that don't require To hit rolls (albeit I don't know if Gaze IS an special kind of attack or just... a rule. It looks quite similar to Psychic Shriek).
|
AI & BFG: / BMG: Mr. Freeze, Deathstroke / Battletech: SR, OWA / Fallout Factions: BoS / HGB: Caprice / Malifaux: Arcanists, Guild, Outcasts / MCP: Mutants / SAGA: Ordensstaat / SW Legion: CIS / WWX: Union
Unit1126PLL wrote:"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"
Shadenuat wrote:Voted Astra Militarum for a chance for them to get nerfed instead of my own army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 23:31:17
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze on a different target he shot at?
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
Vector Strike wrote:Would Gaze be able to target FMCs and Flyers? As they can only be hit by attacks that don't require To hit rolls (albeit I don't know if Gaze IS an special kind of attack or just... a rule. It looks quite similar to Psychic Shriek).
Here is the Raw : Gaze of Death: In its Shooting phase, in addition to using Powers of the C'tan, this model can target one non-vehicle enemy unit within 12" to which it has line of sight. The unit sufferes a number of Wounds equal to 3D6 minus its Leadership, resolved at AP2 and with the Ignores Cover special rule....."
|
It's easy to assume that people arguing an interpretation you disagree with are just looking for an advantage for themselves... But it's quite often not the case. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 23:40:51
Subject: Re:Can the Nightbringer use Gaze on a different target he shot at?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
that it includes 'in addition to using powers of c'tan' heavily implies it is a shooting attack, as those are shooting attacks.
It however does not come out and say it is a shooting attack, nor does it say its a weapon, instead of a shooting, attack, or instead of firing a weapon.
It however also does not come out and say its not a shooting attack.
that's not a very strong argument, so until a FAQ it appears its a non shooting attack that happens during shooting.
anyways, it cannot target flyers because it can only hit non vehicles
as for flying MCS
Hard to Hit A Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature is a very difficult target for units without specialised weapons. Shots resolved at such a target can only be resolved as Snap Shots unless the model or weapon has the Skyfire special rule.
it doesn't says shooting attack, or weapon. It says 'shots' Shot is pretty poorly defined in the rulebook despite being used all over the place in it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 23:43:05
Subject: Re:Can the Nightbringer use Gaze on a different target he shot at?
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
blaktoof wrote:that it includes 'in addition to using powers of c'tan' heavily implies it is a shooting attack, as those are shooting attacks.
It however does not come out and say it is a shooting attack, nor does it say its a weapon, instead of a shooting, attack, or instead of firing a weapon.
It however also does not come out and say its not a shooting attack.
that's not a very strong argument, so until a FAQ it appears its a non shooting attack that happens during shooting.
anyways, it cannot target flyers because it can only hit non vehicles
as for flying MCS
Hard to Hit A Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature is a very difficult target for units without specialised weapons. Shots resolved at such a target can only be resolved as Snap Shots unless the model or weapon has the Skyfire special rule.
it doesn't says shooting attack, or weapon. It says 'shots' Shot is pretty poorly defined in the rulebook despite being used all over the place in it.
To the defense of it not being a shooting attack it is just listed as a special rule and not a wargear and has no weapon profile.
|
It's easy to assume that people arguing an interpretation you disagree with are just looking for an advantage for themselves... But it's quite often not the case. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/03 00:22:16
Subject: Re:Can the Nightbringer use Gaze on a different target he shot at?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
There's other models that have special rules that generate shooting attacks.
It does follow the rules for wound allocation and removal of casualties and armor saves as found in the shooting section, otherwise it would have no effect as there are no rules for resolving wounds and saves from things that are not shooting attacks during the shooting phase.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|