| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:49:14
Subject: Imperatus, Phoenix Protocol, movement.
|
 |
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge
|
Ok, having had a rather odd situation come up in a game today, we decided to pose this question and hope someone had an answer.
Imperatus was engaged, with crippled movement and 8 boxes. The idea was to move him the 3 inches to provide Vyros with the flank bonus and hopefully get a hit in, with a model I wanted to tie up and engage a further two inches away.
Now, the free strike that Imperatus took after moving 1 inch (exactly) killed him.
Now, Phoenix Protocol triggers, which 'un-cripples' him.
As I understand it, he can continue to move. Is this correct?
Now, the other half of the question is, what can he now move? The additional 2 inches because of his crippled state, or the additional 5 (allowing me to tie up the extra model) from no longer being crippled?
I hope someone knows the answer to this, because we don't.
Thanks guys.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/02 14:51:43
My $0.02, which since 1992 has rounded to nothing. Take with salt.
Elysian Drop Troops, Dark Angels, 30K
Mercenaries, Retribution
Ten Thunders, Neverborn
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 15:10:50
Subject: Imperatus, Phoenix Protocol, movement.
|
 |
Knight Exemplar
UK
|
I would guess 5" due to not being crippled.
I would say this because in the same way if you leave a forest you do not continue at half speed, so his movement restriction is removed he goes back to full spd.
I would probably need to read all those rules though so that I'm not missing anything
Well my 2c
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 16:26:30
Subject: Imperatus, Phoenix Protocol, movement.
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
|
Farseer Anath'lan wrote:Ok, having had a rather odd situation come up in a game today, we decided to pose this question and hope someone had an answer.
Imperatus was engaged, with crippled movement and 8 boxes. The idea was to move him the 3 inches to provide Vyros with the flank bonus and hopefully get a hit in, with a model I wanted to tie up and engage a further two inches away.
Now, the free strike that Imperatus took after moving 1 inch (exactly) killed him.
Now, Phoenix Protocol triggers, which 'un-cripples' him.
As I understand it, he can continue to move. Is this correct?
Now, the other half of the question is, what can he now move? The additional 2 inches because of his crippled state, or the additional 5 (allowing me to tie up the extra model) from no longer being crippled?
I hope someone knows the answer to this, because we don't.
Thanks guys.
A crippled movement only prevents a Warjack from running or charging and lowers its base DEF to 7. Where did you get that it also lowered the amount that he could move?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 17:10:19
Subject: Re:Imperatus, Phoenix Protocol, movement.
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
As long as you were only advancing you could continue moving. However, you will take another freestrike if you try to keep moving to the previous desired position.
This is because the free strike happens exactly where you leave melee range, you were then killed. You then reappear just inside melee range after using Phoenix Protocol. Then if you continue to move you will again leave melee range.
Also, crippled movement doesn't reduce your spd. It only prevents charging and reduces your defense. You get to move your full spd still.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 17:40:37
Subject: Re:Imperatus, Phoenix Protocol, movement.
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
|
Grey Templar wrote:As long as you were only advancing you could continue moving. However, you will take another freestrike if you try to keep moving to the previous desired position.
This is because the free strike happens exactly where you leave melee range, you were then killed. You then reappear just inside melee range after using Phoenix Protocol. Then if you continue to move you will again leave melee range.
This is not correct. Phoenix Protocol is triggered on Disabled and a Warjack is only physically removed from the table on Destroyed. There is no reappearing to be had, Imperatus will simply "heal" each of its systems and continue on its merry way, exactly as it would happen if the free strike hadn't Disabled him.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 17:52:04
Subject: Re:Imperatus, Phoenix Protocol, movement.
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Ah you are correct. I forgot it triggered on disabled. You will still however stop the movement, and thus trigger a second free strike if you continue to move.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 18:03:33
Subject: Re:Imperatus, Phoenix Protocol, movement.
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
|
Grey Templar wrote:Ah you are correct. I forgot it triggered on disabled. You will still however stop the movement, and thus trigger a second free strike if you continue to move. That makes absolutely no sense. You do not stop movement any more than you would stop it for any other model suffering a free strike. If things happened like you said, no model could ever survive a free strike because the first free strike received would have stopped its movement and it would just receive another free strike after it "restarted", over and over until the model died...
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/02 18:04:02
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 19:40:17
Subject: Re:Imperatus, Phoenix Protocol, movement.
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Other models can go trough free strikes because it doesn't kill them.
Imperitus becomes disabled, I believe that stops the movement.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/03 04:33:58
Subject: Imperatus, Phoenix Protocol, movement.
|
 |
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge
|
PhantomViper wrote: A crippled movement only prevents a Warjack from running or charging and lowers its base DEF to 7. Where did you get that it also lowered the amount that he could move?
Ah, it was late and we both assumed it limited it to half movement. I wonder where that came from actually, we both had the same idea. Hmm.
Grey Templar wrote:As long as you were only advancing you could continue moving. However, you will take another freestrike if you try to keep moving to the previous desired position.
This is because the free strike happens exactly where you leave melee range, you were then killed. You then reappear just inside melee range after using Phoenix Protocol. Then if you continue to move you will again leave melee range.
Also, crippled movement doesn't reduce your spd. It only prevents charging and reduces your defense. You get to move your full spd still.
Ah, I doubled checked the rules. It contradicts itself when it says 'when a model advances out' and then later in the sentence 'just before it leaves'. So would Imperatus take a second freestrike, or does the fact he's still alive prevent a second free strike occurring, or something else? I can't find anything covering this in the rulebook. Maybe I shoot the question to an Infernal?
Cheers, big help guys, now I know there's no halved speed for crippled movement.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/03 04:41:14
My $0.02, which since 1992 has rounded to nothing. Take with salt.
Elysian Drop Troops, Dark Angels, 30K
Mercenaries, Retribution
Ten Thunders, Neverborn
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/03 04:43:58
Subject: Imperatus, Phoenix Protocol, movement.
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
I believe it was halved movement in Mk1, so maybe some hangover from that.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/03 08:13:08
Subject: Imperatus, Phoenix Protocol, movement.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Brisbane, Australia
|
http://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?21761-Disabled-during-activation
If you're disabled and heal/repair during a regular advance, you continue on your merry way. No double freestrike or anything else.
http://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?15602-Model-is-running-and-loses-its-Movement-to-a-Free-Strike&p=237128&highlight=crippled+movement#post237128
If you were charging/tramping/slamming at the time your movement is Crippled, however, it immediately fails and it's activation ends.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/03 08:15:55
Looking for a club in Brisbane, Australia? Come and enjoy a game and a beer at Pubhammer, our friendly club in a pub at the Junction pub in Annerley (opposite Ace Comics), Sunday nights from 6:30. All brisbanites welcome, don't wait, check out our Club Page on Facebook group for details or to organize a game. We play all sorts of board and war games, so hit us up if you're interested.
Pubhammer is Moving! Starting from the 25th of May we'll be gaming at The Junction pub (AKA The Muddy Farmer), opposite Ace Comics & Games in Annerley! Still Sunday nights from 6:30 in the Function room Come along and play Warmachine, 40k, boardgames or anything else! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/03 10:03:44
Subject: Re:Imperatus, Phoenix Protocol, movement.
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
|
As usual, Maddermax has it right.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/03 13:50:05
Subject: Imperatus, Phoenix Protocol, movement.
|
 |
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge
|
Cheers. Thanks for clearing it all up guys, I'll keep this as a reference.
Thanks again.
|
My $0.02, which since 1992 has rounded to nothing. Take with salt.
Elysian Drop Troops, Dark Angels, 30K
Mercenaries, Retribution
Ten Thunders, Neverborn
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/05 16:28:39
Subject: Imperatus, Phoenix Protocol, movement.
|
 |
Strider
Arizona
|
Just as an aside, the free strike occurs just as you leave the opposing model's engagement. If you get hit by a free strike, and say... tough and get knocked down, you are then OUTSIDE the enemy engagment range so if you could "theoretically" move again you could not get a second free strike.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/05 21:41:15
Subject: Imperatus, Phoenix Protocol, movement.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Brisbane, Australia
|
Moktor wrote:Just as an aside, the free strike occurs just as you leave the opposing model's engagement. If you get hit by a free strike, and say... tough and get knocked down, you are then OUTSIDE the enemy engagment range so if you could "theoretically" move again you could not get a second free strike.
Not quite. A model takes the free Strike just before they leave melee range. If you are knocked Down by toughing a free strike, for instance, you are still within melee range of an enemy.
http://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?128491-Knocked-down-by-free-strike&highlight=free+strike+tough+melee+range
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/05 21:43:43
Looking for a club in Brisbane, Australia? Come and enjoy a game and a beer at Pubhammer, our friendly club in a pub at the Junction pub in Annerley (opposite Ace Comics), Sunday nights from 6:30. All brisbanites welcome, don't wait, check out our Club Page on Facebook group for details or to organize a game. We play all sorts of board and war games, so hit us up if you're interested.
Pubhammer is Moving! Starting from the 25th of May we'll be gaming at The Junction pub (AKA The Muddy Farmer), opposite Ace Comics & Games in Annerley! Still Sunday nights from 6:30 in the Function room Come along and play Warmachine, 40k, boardgames or anything else! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/24 23:45:52
Subject: Imperatus, Phoenix Protocol, movement.
|
 |
Strider
Arizona
|
Thanks, that is absolutely clear. It is amazing how many rules are clear until something comes up like this, for some reason I have always understood a free strike occurring as you leave, rather than the proper understanding of it occurring before you leave, when you have that intent to leave.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|