Switch Theme:

Mek tools when embarked  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Squishy Squighound





Can a mek embarked in one battlewagon try and repair another battlewagon if both battlewagons are in base contact? The rules as written for mek tools say in base contact or embarked upon. It doesn't have the same wording as the KFF where its one or the other. Rules for embarking are that any effects regarding the models inside the transport are measured to the hull of the transport.
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan




Homestead, FL

The rules say that he can only use his mek tools if he is in base to base, if he is embarked upon a vehicle then he is in base to base with that vehicle and that vehicle alone. He can not repair another vehicle unless he disembarks first.

I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Base contact means that his base is touching the other model. While distances are measured from the hull of the vehicle he's in, this doesn't mean that the vehicle counts as his base. So no.
   
Made in us
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor





And remember, he will have to disembark along with the rest of his unit (unless it is a Big Mek, which has the Independent Character rule). Also, you can't disembark and embark on a different vehicle in the same turn, so they will have to stand behind the wagons for a whole round of shooting just for an extra 33% chance to change a tire.

But don't let me talk you out of it, I love completely undoing a whole turn's worth of opponents' anti-tank shooting, even if it isn't strictly the best tactical decision.

6000+
4500+
1500+
500+ 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan




Homestead, FL

Keep in mind that with the new rules out, you are allowed to take an extra Mek for every HQ choice you have (except other meks) and for only 15 points you can then plug that extra mek into whatever squad your putting in the battle wagonz. I was running the idea of throwing a big mek with 1-2 extra mekz into a Morkanaut and letting it run rampant over the battlefield. Give it, it will not die and you basically have an invincible walker unless your opponet blows it up in 1 turn....which is rather unlikely.

I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: