Switch Theme:

Assaulting vehicle squadrons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Maniacal Gibbering Madboy






When I assault a vehicle in a squadron, and cause a bunch of damage, does that damage spill over to vehicles I'm not in contact with?

For example, I charge a three vehicle leman russ squadron with a mob of boyz, I make it into base contact with two vehicles, but not the third. I cause 5 glances and 2 pens (with the klaw). This is a total of 7 HP knocked off, assuming nothing explodes. that's enough to at least wreck two of the three vehicles, so would the last russ get damaged?

Apologies in advance if this is stupidly simple.
   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners





What does the Squadron rules state to do with Extra Pen/glances in this case?

3000+
6000+
2000+
2500+
2500+
:Orks 5000+ 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Check out the Vehicle Squadrons rules on page 79 of the Rulebook, it has a section dealing with how to deal with squadrons in the assault phase.

Basically, the hits are generated against the vehicle unit, exactly like an infantry unit, but how those hits gets resolved is a bit differently to avoid the scenario of rolling all the armour pen rolls at the same time and getting, say, 1 "Explodes" and 2 glances - did the explosion happen first or was it the third hit against that vehicle?
   
Made in gb
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot




 Quanar wrote:
Check out the Vehicle Squadrons rules on page 79 of the Rulebook, it has a section dealing with how to deal with squadrons in the assault phase.

Basically, the hits are generated against the vehicle unit, exactly like an infantry unit, but how those hits gets resolved is a bit differently to avoid the scenario of rolling all the armour pen rolls at the same time and getting, say, 1 "Explodes" and 2 glances - did the explosion happen first or was it the third hit against that vehicle?


The question here is that even when you rol one at a time, what happens to extra hits once the vehicle you're in contact with explodes?

Let's say a unit of wraiths assaults a six unit strong tank regiment. 12 penetrating hits. First two tanks are blown up. Now wraiths aren't in base contact with anyone. Where do the 10 extra hits go? Do they jump five inches from where wraiths are to the next tank?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You keep on rolling, as the Squadron rules tell you. They all still happen.
   
Made in gb
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot




nosferatu1001 wrote:
You keep on rolling, as the Squadron rules tell you. They all still happen.


Next sub question - at what point do they start jumping? Wrecked or Explodes? Or can I assume a tank with disabled guns that's also immobile can be skipped?


15k+
3k+
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Ffyllotek wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
You keep on rolling, as the Squadron rules tell you. They all still happen.


Next sub question - at what point do they start jumping? Wrecked or Explodes? Or can I assume a tank with disabled guns that's also immobile can be skipped?


You always allocate to the closest vehicle. so you keep allocating hits until the closest vehicle is dead.
   
Made in gb
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot




What constitutes dead? Wrecked? Immobilised?

15k+
3k+
 
   
Made in de
Experienced Maneater






0 HP is "dead".
   
Made in gb
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot




 Hanskrampf wrote:
0 HP is "dead".


So not wrecked then...

15k+
3k+
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Ffyllotek wrote:
 Hanskrampf wrote:
0 HP is "dead".


So not wrecked then...

Don't be so pedantic you know what he means.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Ffyllotek wrote:
 Hanskrampf wrote:
0 HP is "dead".


So not wrecked then...

0HP gives a wrecked result. So that is technically correct.

WRecked or Explodes is a dead vehicle, as the rules are pretty clear on.
   
Made in ca
Maniacal Gibbering Madboy






Thanks guys!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: