Switch Theme:

On going reserve and 'deep striking'  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Been Around the Block





Hello.
Here is my understanding of a certain scenario, based on the rules.

Tryanid turn 1) Mawloc is already deployed and instant burrows (goes in to ongoing reserves).

Tyranid turn 2) Mawloc insta-comes in following all deep strike rules.

Is this correct?

Commissioned painting at
Berserker-Media Studio
Based in the UK 
   
Made in ie
Norn Queen






Dublin, Ireland

No he wont insta come in.
He must roll for reserves like everyone else (3+) because he is placed in ongoing reserves. However he will follow the deep strike entry rules (scatter, etc etc).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/02/06 20:26:47


Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be

By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.

"Feelin' goods, good enough". 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

It is no, but for a different reason. From Burrow:
"during its Movement phases from the second game turn onwards"

That said, Ongoing Reserves comes in automatically (so Ratius is wrong there). However, you cannot fulfill all of the Deep Strike restrictions, such as having to start the game in Deep Strike Reserves.

Most people play that if a model with Deep Strike goes into Ongoing Reserves, they can Deep Strike.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/06 20:47:44


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block





The insta come in thing is right from on going reserver. thanks for that.

Obvisouly the Mawloc come in from the 'terror of the deep' and if it borrow is it counted as in 'on going reserves'.

So buy deep striking rules i mean, scatter all that jazz.

but either way, guaranteed on the board turn three?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/02/06 21:02:51


Commissioned painting at
Berserker-Media Studio
Based in the UK 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I'm not sure exactly where since it's been a bit from playing nids, but they changed burrow. It now won't allow you to burrow on turn 1 like you used to be able to with the 5th ed codex. So you'd have to rely on rolls to have them come in starting turn 2. That or walk turn 1 burrow turn 2, come in turn 3
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: