Switch Theme:

Necron Scarab slingshot  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Power-Hungry Cultist of Tzeentch




Beale AFB, CA

Spyders may create Scarabs at any point in their movement phase within 6 inches of them. 7 Spyders with a minimum Scarab squad can potentially move 24 inches before charging. Move the Spyders forward 6 inches, create 7 bases in a 12 inch line, move 12 inches with the Scarabs. Put a pile of IC Warscythes in there, and you are making money. Season generously with Wraiths.

The worst part about 40k is that my models don't hug me back. 
   
Made in au
Freaky Flayed One




Yeah that does seem to work. Ironic considering they had to errata nearly the same thing early in the 5E codex, but at least this one doesn't quite allow a first turn assault.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Spoiler:
Scarab Hive: Once per friendly Movement phase, each Canoptek Spyder can use this special rule to create Canoptek Scarabs. To do so, nominate a friendly unit of Canoptek Scarabs that is within 6" of the Canoptek Spyder. Add a single Canoptek Scarab base to the unit – this can take the unit beyond its starting size, but must be placed within 6" of the Canoptek Spyder. If a model cannot be placed for any reason, it is destroyed. Canoptek Scarabs created in this manner can move and act normally this turn. Roll a D6 each time a Canoptek Spyder uses its Scarab Hive special rule, immediately after placing any Canoptek Scarabs that were created – on a roll of a 1 the Canoptek Spyder suffers a single Wound with no saves of any kind allowed.


I don't think that works. You have to place it within 6" of the Spyder
   
Made in au
Freaky Flayed One




col_impact wrote:
Spoiler:
Scarab Hive: Once per friendly Movement phase, each Canoptek Spyder can use this special rule to create Canoptek Scarabs. To do so, nominate a friendly unit of Canoptek Scarabs that is within 6" of the Canoptek Spyder. Add a single Canoptek Scarab base to the unit – this can take the unit beyond its starting size, but must be placed within 6" of the Canoptek Spyder. If a model cannot be placed for any reason, it is destroyed. Canoptek Scarabs created in this manner can move and act normally this turn. Roll a D6 each time a Canoptek Spyder uses its Scarab Hive special rule, immediately after placing any Canoptek Scarabs that were created – on a roll of a 1 the Canoptek Spyder suffers a single Wound with no saves of any kind allowed.


I don't think that works. You have to place it within 6" of the Spyder


If you move the Spyder forward 6", you can place the final scarab 6" further forward for a total of 12". You just need to generate a conga line to maintain coherency.
   
Made in ca
Spawn of Chaos




Just be careful to play it correctly. You've gotta add each base, one at a time, in unit coherency and within 6" of the particular Spyder you're activating at that point. It works, but you have to be careful moving the Spyders, they can get in the way of each other.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




caelim wrote:
Just be careful to play it correctly. You've gotta add each base, one at a time, in unit coherency and within 6" of the particular Spyder you're activating at that point. It works, but you have to be careful moving the Spyders, they can get in the way of each other.



It seems like something that you can get a pretty decent turnout turn 1 for, but beyond turn 1 you are hampered by the mobility of the Spyders.
   
Made in us
Power-Hungry Cultist of Tzeentch




Beale AFB, CA

Tekron wrote:
Yeah that does seem to work. Ironic considering they had to errata nearly the same thing early in the 5E codex, but at least this one doesn't quite allow a first turn assault.


That is exactly what it does. It is a 24 inch move on turn one.

The worst part about 40k is that my models don't hug me back. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




While it will lock the enemy in combat, you wont be able to swing with the ICs until round 2.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




At first I was thinking that wouldn't work, but it's actually not a bad idea the more I consider it. You are effectively giving your little beasts a 36" charge range.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: