Switch Theme:

Newcron Deceiver Clarification  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

Hi Dakka,

yet another Necron YMDC thread haha. I don't think much thought was put into writing this Codex with the amount of YMDC thread's on the Codex, but that's another topic all together..

Anyway, I'm looking at the Deceiver and two rules come into question that I'm think I understand but just want clarification on.

Dread: Models in enemy units that are within 12" this model subtract 2 from the Leadership characteristic.

Grand Illusion: Immediately after all forces have been deployed and all Scout redeployments have been made, you may remove this model and/or up to D3 other friendly units within 12" of it from the table. Each unit that is removed in this manner can either be immediately deployed again using the normal Deployment rules, or placed in Reserve.



1) If an entire unit is not covered within 12" of the Deceiver's Dread rule, would the models that are outside the range have normal Ld and therefore use that when determining tests that are made using the Ld characteristic?

2) Would the Deceiver be allowed to use Grand Illusion over and over again as the units are deployed as per normal Deployment Rules?


I mean, number [2] just sounds ridiculous, but I'm unsure about it (and would say RAI, no way at all like that, only once that's it). [1] looks pretty straight forward in that those models are unaffected but I could be wrong.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/12 18:31:03


YMDC = nightmare 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





Virginia

 Frozocrone wrote:
Hi Dakka,

yet another Necron YMDC thread haha. I don't think much thought was put into writing this Codex with the amount of YMDC thread's on the Codex, but that's another topic all together..

Anyway, I'm looking at the Deceiver and two rules come into question that I'm think I understand but just want clarification on.

Dread: Models in enemy units that are within 12" this model subtract 2 from the Leadership characteristic.

Grand Illusion: Immediately after all forces have been deployed and all Scout redeployments have been made, you may remove this model and/or up to D3 other friendly units within 12" of it from the table. Each unit that is removed in this manner can either be immediately deployed again using the normal Deployment rules, or placed in Reserve.



1) If an entire unit is not covered within 12" of the Deceiver's Dread rule, would the models that are outside the range have normal Ld and therefore use that when determining tests that are made using the Ld characteristic?

2) Would the Deceiver be allowed to use Grand Illusion over and over again as the units are deployed as per normal Deployment Rules?


I mean, number [2] just sounds ridiculous, but I'm unsure about it (and would say RAI, no way at all like that, only once that's it). [1] looks pretty straight forward in that those models are unaffected but I could be wrong.


For #1, It says "units". A unit is considered in range if only a single model is within range. Therefor, the whole unit is affected by it. #2 is just, weird. I guess technically there's no restriction from what I can see, but definitely RAI it's only once.

40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty  
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

#1 says units. Only the pinky toe of your 30-man boy squad has to be within 12" and they all have -2 Ld.

#2 reads as no, IMO. It says after all forces have been deployed and all Scout redeployments have been made. So you'd do deployments of both sides, all scout redeployments (if applicable), and then Grand Illusion. If you try to trigger your own Grand Illusion again you are breaking the rules, as you are not doing it immediately after the scout redeployments. I think an exception to this would be if both players had Grand Illusion, but I'm unsure if that's even covered (roll off, I guess?).

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




Boston, Massachusetts

"Immediately after" only happens once. I don't think you can keep redeploying.
   
Made in us
Novice Knight Errant Pilot





Baltimore

#2 RAW, you can only do it once. You're using the deployment rules, not actually jumping the game back to the deployment phase before scout moves.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: