Switch Theme:

Basilisks  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Pittsburgh, PA

I haven't played with basilisks in a long time, and I want to make sure I am doing it right. The earthshaker cannon has a range of 36"-240". Can you not fire the earthshaker if the target is closer than 36"?

I seem to recall hearing you fire indirectly if under the minimum, but I'm not seeing anything like that in the rule book. Clarification would be appreciated. Thanks guys!
   
Made in gb
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster




Behind you

Yes that means that you cant place the center of the blast marker colser than 36" but it can scatter closer.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The range is 36'' to 240''
Between those two distances you can fire directly or indirectly. Direct fire requires line of sight, but the scatter is reduced by your ballistic skill. Indirect fire does not require line of sight.
If you're within your minimum range, though, you can only fire directly. You'll therefore require line of sight.

Note that it's still a Barrage weapon, regardless of whether you're firing directly or indirectly. You're still allocating wounds from the centre of the blast, hitting side armour, etc, etc. Also, you can't place the blast marker if it's touching a friendly. This includes the Basilisk, so you do have a minimum direct-fire range. It's two-and-a-half inches.

I seem to recall hearing you fire indirectly if under the minimum
I think it used to be that you could fire within the minimum, but only indirectly (i.e. you don't get the reduction in scatter from ballistic skill). 7th edition flipped it around.

EDIT: From the rules of Barrage weapons (I've got an online copy, so I can't quote page numbers):
If a Barrage weapon has line of sight to its target it can fire directly, even if the target is within its minimum range.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/13 00:08:33


 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Canada

You can place the blast marker closer, however you lose the barrage special rule.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




UrsoerTheSquid wrote:
You can place the blast marker closer, however you lose the barrage special rule.
You would think so, but no, there's no rule for losing the Barrage rule.
The barrage rule has two parts - the first is all about the accuracy of direct and indirect fire. The second is about how to allocate wounds. However, it never actually comes out and says that direct fire isn't still Barrage fire.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





If you fire direct you can fire below the minimum range.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Pittsburgh, PA

Direct fire meaning you can still subtract the ballistic skill from he scatter. I'll be damned. Thank you very much for the info gentlemen!
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




...but needing LOS, so not *all* roses
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: