Switch Theme:

Ravenwing Stasis grenades and vehicles  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut






Ok I'm very much a "if your unsure of the rule intention play it to your disadvantage" kind of guy but was reading a topic on another site and wondered what my fellow Dakkarians thought.

Vehicles are treated as WS 1. Does this mean this can be modified?

Example: I hit a vehicle with a stasis grenade and it suffers -1 WS. Does it now play with WS 0 allowing my black knights to auto hit?

As I said, I would probably say not as it is unclear but wondered what other think.

Never forgive, never remember! 
   
Made in gb
Dark Angels Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries





Oxford, UK

I always thought nothing could drop any stat to less that 1?
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut






me too but page 8 brb states

"a model's Initiative cannot be modified below 1, and no other characteristic can be modified below 0"

while page 9 states

"A model with WS 0 is incapacitated; they are hit automatically in close combat and cannot strike any blows back"

Its RAW vs RAI again.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/14 09:19:21


Never forgive, never remember! 
   
Made in us
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster





RAW, I'd say definitely, yes. The rules allow a model to be reduced to WS 0, and since vehicles are WS 1, a stasis grenade would do it.

RAI? I'd say probably still yes. A tank that gets hit with a stasis grenade would just be a sitting duck. Makes sense it would be hit automatically.

"But If the Earth isn't flat, then how did Jabba chakka wookiee no Solo ho ho ho hoooooooo?" 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut






Rules state vehicles are "treated" as having WS1. This is to represent the fact they can't fight back but you still need to focus your attacks on the weaker points, the chinks in the armour. would this change if it was hit by a stasis grenade? vehicles are stationary when you hit them in normal close combat so it seems unlikely.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/14 09:33:15


Never forgive, never remember! 
   
Made in se
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk




I would argue that due to vehicles having no WS to begin with, you cannot modify it with stasis grenades. The "treated as WS1" is more akin to a set modifier, as you apply a stat that is non-existent to begin with. Hence you would be unable to modify it.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut






I have to agree. Much as I would love my black knights to be auto hitting, a vehicle in stasis would still need to be hit on its weaker points and so the option to miss those points still exsists

Never forgive, never remember! 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





I'd have to say no. During your shooting phase, when the grenade hits, the vehicle doesn't have a weapon skill. You can't modify a number that doesn't exist. It's not until you get into close combat that the vehicle is given the temporary filler of WS 1.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: