Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/14 17:27:07
Subject: Question about Pask and his Preferred Enemy (Answered)
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
Does Pask's preferred enemy allow a Executioner's plasma cannon (and the sponsons too) to re-roll the Gets Hot roll you have to make before you fire?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/14 19:40:16
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/14 19:13:20
Subject: Re:Question about Pask and his Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
EDIT: Ignore me.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/14 22:53:11
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/14 19:31:52
Subject: Question about Pask and his Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Mallich he's not asking about rerolling the scatter die, he's asking about Gets Hot which is clear.
Under the Gets Hot rule it says if you have any reroll (including from sources such as BS6) you get to reroll get hot for weapons that don't roll to hit.
So yes Pask's preferred enemy let's him and his unit reroll their gets hot tests
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/14 19:39:23
Subject: Question about Pask and his Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
Thanks for the answer.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/04 16:07:35
Subject: Question about Pask and his Preferred Enemy (Answered)
|
 |
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought
I... actually don't know. Help?
|
HOYT!? I killed you!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/04 23:52:46
Subject: Re:Question about Pask and his Preferred Enemy (Answered)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
This can be a hard question to answer.
One argument is preferred Enemy only entitles you to re-rolls of failed To Hit and To Wound rolls of 1. Blast weapons do not roll to hit and when you fire a Gets Hot weapon you make a special role to determine if the weapon gets hot. This is not a to hit roll either. Since you never roll to hit with a gets hot blast weapon you can never roll a 1 and as such will never be entitled to a re-roll.
Another argument is that preferred enemy meets the threshold of offering a re-roll and it does not matter if you are capable of rolling a 1 or not. This means you may use that re-roll as per the gets hot rules.
IMHO RAW, you would not get your re-roll but I don't think that was the intent, just an unhappy accident. My group plays with the house rule the gets hot roll needs to come up 1 for preferred enemy to be able to kick in.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/05 00:14:00
Subject: Re:Question about Pask and his Preferred Enemy (Answered)
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
DJGietzen wrote:This can be a hard question to answer.
One argument is preferred Enemy only entitles you to re-rolls of failed To Hit and To Wound rolls of 1. Blast weapons do not roll to hit and when you fire a Gets Hot weapon you make a special role to determine if the weapon gets hot. This is not a to hit roll either. Since you never roll to hit with a gets hot blast weapon you can never roll a 1 and as such will never be entitled to a re-roll.
Another argument is that preferred enemy meets the threshold of offering a re-roll and it does not matter if you are capable of rolling a 1 or not. This means you may use that re-roll as per the gets hot rules.
IMHO RAW, you would not get your re-roll but I don't think that was the intent, just an unhappy accident. My group plays with the house rule the gets hot roll needs to come up 1 for preferred enemy to be able to kick in.
See Gets Hot and rerolls note how it specifically mentions Bs6 (allows rerolls 1s to hit just like PE) as something that would allow you to reroll the Gets Hot roll. So absolutely clear RaW you get the reroll. This is just like the scatter RaW & RaI you get the reroll if you have a reroll ability regardless of its trigger.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/05 23:25:02
Subject: Re:Question about Pask and his Preferred Enemy (Answered)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Works for me
|
|
 |
 |
|