Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/17 16:48:32
Subject: Charging after split-fire
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
First, for people that don't know, deathwing get a handful of special rules, including split fire. So Deathwing DS first turn, split fire bolters into some guard and missiles into some bikes. Next turn, move closer to the guard, fire bolters at them, fire the missiles at the bikes, then go to charge the guard.
My understanding of the rules: split fire lets you shoot at a second target using normal shooting rules, and it can't be on a unit that you forced to disembark using the rest of the squad's firing. Then, when the assault phase comes up, you're allowed to charge a unit that you fired at. In this case, it could be either target that you fired at. I've been playing it that way since I started using deathwing, and it's been agreed upon in all the cases that it's come up (I really don't use it that often, so only a handful of opponents) that I'm doing it right.
However, had someone try to argue it in my most recent game. I hadn't been planning on playing a game, was just taking my models to the store to ask the owner some painting questions, didn't have my rulebook on me. Of course, the person questioning the rules didn't have one either, and didn't even know how split fire works as it's not a common rule.
TL;DR Can I charge after using split fire, and can it be against either of the targets I fired at if they're both within range?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/17 16:59:39
Subject: Charging after split-fire
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Absolutely. Split Fire's only real prevention is that you can't Split Fire at a unit that you popped out of a transport.
You can charge either target.
|
~1.5k
Successful Trades: Ashrog (1), Iron35 (1), Rathryan (3), Leth (1), Eshm (1), Zeke48 (1), Gorkamorka12345 (1),
Melevolence (2), Ascalam (1), Swanny318, (1) ScootyPuffJunior, (1) LValx (1), Jim Solo (1), xSoulgrinderx (1), Reese (1), Pretre (1) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/17 17:02:39
Subject: Re:Charging after split-fire
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From 'Declare Charge':
In addition to the above, a unit that fired in the Shooting phase can only charge the unit that it targeted during that turn's Shooting phase.
And from 'Split Fire':
When a unit that contains at least one model with this special rule shoots, one model can shoot at a different target than the rest of the unit. Once this shooting attack has been resolved, resolve the shooting attacks made by the rest of the unit.
Since the unit never targeted the unit that the one model fired at, it would not meet the criteria of being "... the unit that it targeted during that turn's Shooting phase". The unit had its target, and the one model had its target. Being in the same unit doesn't make the one model's target the unit's target.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/17 17:07:28
Subject: Re:Charging after split-fire
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
Ghaz wrote:From 'Declare Charge':
In addition to the above, a unit that fired in the Shooting phase can only charge the unit that it targeted during that turn's Shooting phase.
And from 'Split Fire':
When a unit that contains at least one model with this special rule shoots, one model can shoot at a different target than the rest of the unit. Once this shooting attack has been resolved, resolve the shooting attacks made by the rest of the unit.
Since the unit never targeted the unit that the one model fired at, it would not meet the criteria of being "... the unit that it targeted during that turn's Shooting phase". The unit had its target, and the one model had its target. Being in the same unit doesn't make the one model's target the unit's target.
Okay, that's understandable. I can certainly say I've never fired the bolters at something I wasn't charging, so I'm still safe.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/17 18:47:54
Subject: Charging after split-fire
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
I think you would declare your primary target (the one you plan to charge) and charge that unit only.
|
|
 |
 |
|
|