Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/18 07:28:47
Subject: Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
Is it Destroyed? Or does Invincible Behemoth come into effect? (Yes, I see the word attack, but is this intended?)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/18 07:59:48
Subject: Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Well the chart assumes there is no way for it to survive.
It doesn't tell us what to do if that happens. Deployed? Back into Reserve?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/18 08:01:12
Subject: Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
It was more of the instance of destroyed is treated as d3, removed from play is treated as d3, but the line in invicible behemoth says "treat attacks" so do we treat this as an attack or is that part ignored etc.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/18 08:10:25
Subject: Re:Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
A deep strike mishap is not an attack. The invincible behemoth rule won't prevent the super heavy from being destroyed by non-attack effects.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/18 08:11:31
Subject: Re:Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
DJGietzen wrote:A deep strike mishap is not an attack. The invincible behemoth rule won't prevent the super heavy from being destroyed by non-attack effects.
That's what I figured. Makes the Obelisk kind of lame, can mishap on almost anything, roll a 1, good 300 points wasted lol. Automatically Appended Next Post: in the obelisk / monolith formation
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/18 08:11:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/18 08:11:51
Subject: Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
grendel083 wrote:Well the chart assumes there is no way for it to survive.
It doesn't tell us what to do if that happens. Deployed? Back into Reserve?
You deploy it, and as you cannot have models on top of other models, you displace something out of the way
Is this possibly due to the Obelisk being able to DS? My partner (husband shortly, yay conversion ceremony  ) has just bought one and we were having the same conversation about SH failing to have any DS protection....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/18 08:12:17
Subject: Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Ouch, sounds like somebody had a bad game. Also, RAW, they're right. Kiss that ...deepstriking baneblade... goodbye
|
DR:80-S++G+M-B---I+Pw40k#10++D+A++++/cWD-R+++T(T)DM+
(Grey Knights 4500+) (Eldar 4000+ Pts) (Tyranids 3000 Pts) (Tau 3000 Pts) (Imperial Guard 3500 Pts) (Doom Eagles 3000 Pts) (Orks 3000+ Pts) (Necrons 2500 Pts) (Daemons 2000) (Sisters of Battle 2000) (2 Imperial Knights) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/18 09:13:05
Subject: Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
It never happened, just came up in discussion.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/18 09:39:48
Subject: Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
!!Goffik Rocker!!
|
Whacked wrote:It was more of the instance of destroyed is treated as d3, removed from play is treated as d3, but the line in invicible behemoth says "treat attacks" so do we treat this as an attack or is that part ignored etc.
So, is it supposed to be gone into reserves d3 times or something?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/18 10:20:19
Subject: Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
koooaei wrote: Whacked wrote:It was more of the instance of destroyed is treated as d3, removed from play is treated as d3, but the line in invicible behemoth says "treat attacks" so do we treat this as an attack or is that part ignored etc.
So, is it supposed to be gone into reserves d3 times or something?
Why are you trolling? My statement was, if it wasn't destroyed, did it only take D3 Hull Points as Invincible Behemoth alters such results. However, people agree that it would be destroyed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/18 10:27:17
Subject: Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
The argument is that anything which should 'destroy outright', or 'remove from the game' , or similar wording, takes D3 hull points off instead.
The problem is that that rule specifies 'an attack' - as noted, a deep strike mishap is definitely not an attack.
Equally, suppose you've scattered off the board. The fact that it gives you no indication of what to do in this circumstances.
Most of the 'safe deep strikers' have a very clear rule about reducing scatter, or not scattering.
Ultimately, it's no different to the old deep striking land raider trick the blood angels could do; yes, you deep strike but if you scatter and mishap, you can stil l die, despite being a 250 + point model.
|
Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/18 10:33:34
Subject: Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Congratulations!
Hope all goes well
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/18 10:54:03
Subject: Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Thanks  We're already in a partnership so its just a case of signing a form, and swapping 2nd class (equal but different) for 1st  Then a meal. And party. I can already feel the hangover...
Typical UK approach - if in doubt, fill out a form or 3
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/18 11:04:22
Subject: Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Ha! Fill out form 34.b in triplicate...
Still good call for a party. Would buy you a beer, but I think storms are about to cancel the ferries off my island again
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/18 11:15:19
Subject: Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
We also get it for free if we do it this year, and free is always good  I guess thats a reason for the delay, with councils arguing over who gets to pay for it....
Is it still illegal for man to love Man in the Isle of Man? To partially quote Mr Fry?  and cheers for the wishes and offer, maybe if you hit up some tournaments / campaign weekends on the mainland I'll make you make good on it  *
(next one for me is Bristols Vanguard tournament, end of April. Always a laugh, always *stunning* tables, and the refreshments are great. Plus many, many drunken places to visit in that there Bristol...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/18 11:20:14
Subject: Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Is it still illegal for man to love Man in the Isle of Man? To partially quote Mr Fry?
I don't think that's a law, but you never know! Until a few years ago it was legal to shoot a Scotsman on the beach. They forgot to cancel that law 200 years ago...
As for tournaments, I think Throne of Skulls might be a possibility later in the year when they re-open.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/18 11:24:41
Subject: Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Similar to the York scotsman within the walls with a longbow law
I checked and some man on man stuff is still prohibited, but a little more liberal now
Ah yes, think us (remnants of Spiky Club) and the guys from HATE (Hackney Area Tabletop Enthusiasts) will try to make one of those - theyre always a laugh, and as I now have two friends in the studio, a good excuse for a catch up. Only one writes rules though, so I can only harangue one
Shout via PM if you know what youre doing, always good to put a face and real name to a board ID
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/18 22:23:06
Subject: Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Shout via PM if you know what youre doing, always good to put a face and real name to a board ID 
Will do
It all depends on work at this point, but fingers crossed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/19 05:11:20
Subject: Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
If you have a honeymoon to the States and happen to find yourself lost in the woods of Pennsylvania, let me know and I'll buy you a drink!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/19 08:25:33
Subject: Roll a 1 Mishap when Deep Striking with a Superheavy
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
grendel083 wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Shout via PM if you know what youre doing, always good to put a face and real name to a board ID 
Will do
It all depends on work at this point, but fingers crossed.
Same here, currently BMW could be sending me anywhere at the moment, have a 3 monht window where ill be gone for 3 weeks, but dont know when in those 3 months that is....
kingbobbito wrote:
If you have a honeymoon to the States and happen to find yourself lost in the woods of Pennsylvania, let me know and I'll buy you a drink!
Sadly no honeymoon, we did that when we got civil partnered - this is mostly an excuse for a party and to get offically upgraded  But thank you for the offer, may hold you to it in the future
|
|
 |
 |
|