Switch Theme:

CoK and AoF  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Eye of Terror

What exactly does GW mean when they use the term area of effect (AoF) in their rules? The problem for me is that they rarely if ever use this term... the one time I can remember seeing it mentioned was for Collar of Khorne (CoK). Other gaming systems like War Machine use the term frequently so it is much easier to apply those rules.

Loved by many!!! Don't you know it too! Heh. 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

It's a long shot, but 'Area Of Effect' generally refers to the area affected by something.

It's used in the CoK rules to cover Psychic Powers that have templates and that just target specific areas (FoD, for example). If the model is specifically targetted, under a template, or within the measured radius (whichever applies to that particular psychic power) they are within its Area of Effect.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Eye of Terror


...area affected by something...


I agree as that is what makes the most sense to me. The rules for CoK state the item nullifies any psychic power that that includes the bearer in the area of affect. So only that which affects the bearer can be negated. Say for instance Winds of Chaos would have no effect as long as you roll 2+.

Loved by many!!! Don't you know it too! Heh. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Eye of Terror

More feedback will be appreciated.


Loved by many!!! Don't you know it too! Heh. 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






Cherry Hill, NJ

Im kinda confused as to what you want to know.
Yes the area of effect is the area which is affected, literal phrases in rules are fun, and the collar of Khorne does indeed nullify psychic powers.
But i think you said that.



 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Eye of Terror

Does CoK nullify psychic powers such as Fortune and guide? See what I am getting at?

Loved by many!!! Don't you know it too! Heh. 
   
Made in us
Master of the Hunt





Angmar

Is not the 'AoF' of Guide a single unit within x inches?
Unless the CoK is that single unit, then it would not nullify it.

CoK (and Sororitas Armour) can only dispell powers that specifically target them, or which create a 'bubble' which contains them within its area.

Vortex is an example of a 'bubble', and is easily seen as it is represented by a template. So is Fury, except in its case, the 'bubble' is stretched into an infinitely thin straight line.
Storm of the Emperor's Wrath are examples of a 'specifically targeting' power.

Synapse is neither (or both depending on our perspective), as it only effects friendly units. In essence, it creates seperate 'bubbles' for each unit, the area of which are the exact sizes of said units. The same is true for Fear, yet in the opposite way as it effects only enemy units.

In most cases, the Area of Effect does not include the blank space around the units which it effects.

 


"It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the seed of Arabica that thoughts acquire speed, the teeth acquire stains, the stains become a warning.
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion."
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Eye of Terror


Unless the CoK is that single unit, then it would not nullify it.


Exactly.

Now onto Fortune... obviously a Khornate character or deamon is affected by this since it has an effect in close combat. Area of affect does not state whether the effect is first order, second order, and so on so forth.

Loved by many!!! Don't you know it too! Heh. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: