Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
Times and dates in your local timezone.
Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
2015/03/03 17:25:49
Subject: Monster characters / Characters on monsters & Units
Using the same topic for a couple of questions.
Simple question really.
ANSWERED
Spoiler:
Does stomp benefit from the weapons of the user.
For example. If a model that ignored armor saves were to stomp, would the stomp also ignore armour saves.
To be more specific I'm wondering about the Stormfiends.
Warp Lightning Discharge: A model with shock gauntlets inflicts D3 hits rather than 1 when making a Stomp. Attacks made by a model with shock gauntlets ignore armour saves.
My initial assumption is, in this case at least that it does. Given that it states attacks made by a model with shock gauntlets
ignore armour saves. That would imply even the stomp attack would ignore armour saves.
ANSWERED
[spoiler]Regarding Warpstone armour.
Warpstone armour: If a unit of Stormfiends includes one or more models with warpstone-laced armour when armour saves are taken, then use their armour save of 4+ against all of the Wounds that have been inflicted. However, any Wounds that are not saved must be applied to models with warpstone-laced armour before any are applied to models with light armour.
Does this include models that have joined the unit. For example if I had Thanquol in the same unit, would it benefit from the 4+ save and wound dispersion. I.e if a wound were to be caused on Thanquol, would the save be a 4+ and if it were failed would the wound be taken
from one of the stormfiends?[/spoiler
Can Monster characters / characters that are on monsters join a unit of monstrous infantry?
Can a monster character / characters that are on monsters be placed into a unit before deployment. I notice when people put their bunker or unit out they do so with the character already in the unit.
So what I'm really asking, for an example. Would Thanquol be able to be in a unit of rat ogres or storm fiends, and if so would he be able to make use of a grinder fist or warp grinder. Which allows the unit
to be placed in reserve and begin rolling for them to come in on turn 2.
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/03/05 17:56:24
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
Yes, they will ignore armor saves. Stomps are attacks made by the model with the Shock Gauntlets. Stomps don't benefit from weapons which only modify attacks made with the actual weapon, but they do benefit from gear which effects all attacks made by a model.
If you had a magic sword which said you ignored armor saves that would not effect stomp attacks, because the weapon only effects attacks made with the weapon.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/03 17:39:03
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
Thanks for answering.
Altered this topic for another question, to save making multiple topics.
My next question though -
Regarding Warpstone armour.
Warpstone armour: If a unit of Stormfiends includes one or more models with warpstone-laced armour when armour saves are taken, then use their armour save of 4+ against all of the Wounds that have been inflicted. However, any Wounds that are not saved must be applied to models with warpstone-laced armour before any are applied to models with light armour.
Does this include models that have joined the unit. For example if I had Thanquol in the same unit, would it benefit from the 4+ save and wound dispersion. I.e if a wound were to be caused on Thanquol, would the save be a 4+ and if it were failed would the wound be taken
from one of the stormfiends?
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
As above. Characters are separate targets.
All the Warpstone armor does is make you remove models with the armor as casualties first, but while they're alive you have 4+ armor.
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
Ah okay, I figured as much I just wanted to be sure.!
I have one more question, I think it will be my last!
Can Monster characters / characters that are on monsters join a unit of monstrous infantry?
Can a monster character / characters that are on monsters be placed into a unit before deployment. I notice when people put their bunker or unit out they do so with the character already in the unit.
So what I'm really asking, for an example. Would Thanquol be able to be in a unit of rat ogres or storm fiends, and if so would he be able to make use of a grinder fist or warp grinder. Which allows the unit
to be placed in reserve and begin rolling for them to come in on turn 2.
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
1)No, characters that are monsters or are riding monsters cannot join units. See page 97 under "What unit can I join?"
2) See above.
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
It states that a character cannot join a unit of monsters, or a unit of fliers, or a unit of chariots, or a unit of swarms or a warmachine.
But notably that isn't true because if the character is on a flier, chariot etc they are able to join a unit of such. Surely the same pertains to being mounted on a monster.
As the character is on a monster the only rule that seems to affect it is this:
a character that is itself a monster, or riding a monster or a chariot cannot join other units
i.e cannot join other units of a different typing.
Automatically Appended Next Post: joining in the movement phase though means that yeah, question 2 is a nono.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/05 18:29:02
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
No, it doesn't stop them from joining units of a different type. it stops them from joining anything.
There are a couple parts to this rule.
1) A character cannot join Monsters, units with the Fly rule, a unit of Chariots, a unit of Swarms, or a Warmachine.
2) A character that is a Monster, has a Monster for a mount, or a Chariot for a mount, cannot join any units at all.
3) You will notice that characters who themselves have the Fly rule are not prevented from joining other units, they can join other units as long as they're not themselves Flyers, Chariots, Swarms, Monsters, or Warmachines. Fly only prevents you from being joined, not from joining another unit.
These are the basic rules for characters joining units.
Some characters have special rules overriding this rule. Tomb Kings have "And the Tomb Kings rode to war..." which lets them join units of Chariots if they themselves are on a Chariot.
There is not a general rule which says a character on a Chariot or riding a Flyer can join units that are chariots or flyers. Only a specific special rule would let you do that.
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
Grey Templar wrote: No, it doesn't stop them from joining units of a different type. it stops them from joining anything.
There are a couple parts to this rule.
1) A character cannot join Monsters, units with the Fly rule, a unit of Chariots, a unit of Swarms, or a Warmachine.
2) A character that is a Monster, has a Monster for a mount, or a Chariot for a mount, cannot join any units at all.
3) You will notice that characters who themselves have the Fly rule are not prevented from joining other units, they can join other units as long as they're not themselves Flyers, Chariots, Swarms, Monsters, or Warmachines. Fly only prevents you from being joined, not from joining another unit.
These are the basic rules for characters joining units.
Some characters have special rules overriding this rule. Tomb Kings have "And the Tomb Kings rode to war..." which lets them join units of Chariots if they themselves are on a Chariot.
There is not a general rule which says a character on a Chariot or riding a Flyer can join units that are chariots or flyers. Only a specific special rule would let you do that.
Hm. Just realized my Sorceror Lord on Disc can hang out with my Chaos Knights and get "Look out, Sir!"...
She/Her
"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln
Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
He can indeed, although he will have to use the Disk's move value instead of flight as you can't use that unless everyone in the unit has flight.
And as I recall, the disk is Movement 1.
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
Grey Templar wrote: No, it doesn't stop them from joining units of a different type. it stops them from joining anything.
There are a couple parts to this rule.
1) A character cannot join Monsters, units with the Fly rule, a unit of Chariots, a unit of Swarms, or a Warmachine.
2) A character that is a Monster, has a Monster for a mount, or a Chariot for a mount, cannot join any units at all.
3) You will notice that characters who themselves have the Fly rule are not prevented from joining other units, they can join other units as long as they're not themselves Flyers, Chariots, Swarms, Monsters, or Warmachines. Fly only prevents you from being joined, not from joining another unit.
These are the basic rules for characters joining units.
Some characters have special rules overriding this rule. Tomb Kings have "And the Tomb Kings rode to war..." which lets them join units of Chariots if they themselves are on a Chariot.
There is not a general rule which says a character on a Chariot or riding a Flyer can join units that are chariots or flyers. Only a specific special rule would let you do that.
Hm. Just realized my Sorceror Lord on Disc can hang out with my Chaos Knights and get "Look out, Sir!"...
Good way to keep him out of trouble, if he would be from shooting and etc. End your movement ontop of your knights, join the unit for your opponents turn and leave again in the movement phase.
Automatically Appended Next Post: To get around having your movement lowered, I mean.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/06 19:27:07
Grey Templar wrote: He can indeed, although he will have to use the Disk's move value instead of flight as you can't use that unless everyone in the unit has flight.
And as I recall, the disk is Movement 1.
Yeah... I kinda meant nearby.
She/Her
"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln
Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.