Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/04 15:25:21
Subject: Wyvern and rolling to hit...
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
Hello all just a small rules question I couldn't find the answer to...
So the Wyvern gets 4 twin linked shots of its barrage weapon.
If the first blast completely misses its target and after rerolling to hit it still completely misses its target, do the other three blasts still get to roll to hit?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/04 15:25:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/04 15:43:23
Subject: Wyvern and rolling to hit...
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I was under the impression that yes, you do roll for the other blasts.
|
You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/04 16:03:06
Subject: Wyvern and rolling to hit...
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
IIRC, that's not the case. If the initial barrage shot misses you don't get to scatter the rest. I don't have a reference handy so I could be wrong, but that's how I've seen it played by IG before.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/04 16:05:56
Subject: Wyvern and rolling to hit...
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
it has 2 stormshard mortars. It fires two blasts from the first using multiple barrage and two more from the second. That also means that if it moves it will only fire 2 blasts.
|
You shouldn't be worried about the one bullet with your name on it, Boldric. You should be worried about the ones labelled "to whom it may concern"-from Blackadder goes Forth!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/04 16:30:58
Subject: Wyvern and rolling to hit...
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Minneapolis, MN
|
Jambles wrote:IIRC, that's not the case. If the initial barrage shot misses you don't get to scatter the rest. I don't have a reference handy so I could be wrong, but that's how I've seen it played by IG before.
Just glancing through the barrage rules, I don't see anything that prevents you from placing the follow-up shots. You could still potentially "walk" the blasts back towards the unit you want to hit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/05 00:54:38
Subject: Re:Wyvern and rolling to hit...
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Bournemouth
|
you carry on rolling, Nothing in the rules says otherwise. Walking back to the target is a very viable option given the TL nature.
|
WH40K
Iron Wardens 11k (Iron Hands Clan Raukaan with Blood Angels Allies)
Guard PDF 1.5k
Hive Fleet Celesta 3.5k
Irontoof Guttasnarks's Warghband 0k in development |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/06 21:42:34
Subject: Wyvern and rolling to hit...
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
This is all incorrect, for the most part. Your shot doesn't "miss" when you get a scatter. Still place your marker at whatever location in lands. This is your first shot. From this blast your following 3 shots will follow. Roll the scatter die again, if a hit is scored, flip the blast towards the unit you aimed for, if a miss is scored, reroll. This is where your second shot will land. Roll the scatter die again... etc. etc. until all 4 of your blast markers have been placed. with the reroll you should be able to "walk" your barrage back to the unit you were aiming at. This is all noted near the end of the rulebook in the "Special Rules" section under "Barrage"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/06 22:30:29
Subject: Wyvern and rolling to hit...
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
thefallenjackal wrote:This is all incorrect, for the most part. Your shot doesn't "miss" when you get a scatter. Still place your marker at whatever location in lands. This is your first shot. From this blast your following 3 shots will follow. Roll the scatter die again, if a hit is scored, flip the blast towards the unit you aimed for, if a miss is scored, reroll. This is where your second shot will land. Roll the scatter die again... etc. etc. until all 4 of your blast markers have been placed. with the reroll you should be able to "walk" your barrage back to the unit you were aiming at. This is all noted near the end of the rulebook in the "Special Rules" section under "Barrage"
I don't have my BRB at the moment and this could be a change from 6th, but doesn't barrage say that the hit can be placed anywhere as long as its touching the first blast marker? You could still walk the blast back towards the original unit, but only by one blast marker.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/06 22:43:07
Subject: Wyvern and rolling to hit...
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
|
Kaela_Mensha_Khaine wrote: thefallenjackal wrote:This is all incorrect, for the most part. Your shot doesn't "miss" when you get a scatter. Still place your marker at whatever location in lands. This is your first shot. From this blast your following 3 shots will follow. Roll the scatter die again, if a hit is scored, flip the blast towards the unit you aimed for, if a miss is scored, reroll. This is where your second shot will land. Roll the scatter die again... etc. etc. until all 4 of your blast markers have been placed. with the reroll you should be able to "walk" your barrage back to the unit you were aiming at. This is all noted near the end of the rulebook in the "Special Rules" section under "Barrage"
I don't have my BRB at the moment and this could be a change from 6th, but doesn't barrage say that the hit can be placed anywhere as long as its touching the first blast marker? You could still walk the blast back towards the original unit, but only by one blast marker.
This is correct, if a blast beyond the first scatters. If you roll a hit, you are free to place it in contact with any previously placed marker.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/07 13:24:50
Subject: Wyvern and rolling to hit...
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
Yah that's what I meant by "if a hit is scored, flip the blast marker" we only have one so I can't place another one next to the original so we "flip" it in the direction we want
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/07 13:25:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/07 18:03:09
Subject: Wyvern and rolling to hit...
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
You said I was correct, and then went on to explain the opposite of what I was saying. I was under the impression that you only could touch the first template not any previously placed one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/07 18:59:40
Subject: Wyvern and rolling to hit...
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Kaela_Mensha_Khaine wrote:You said I was correct, and then went on to explain the opposite of what I was saying. I was under the impression that you only could touch the first template not any previously placed one.
Any arrows rolled place the marker against the first marker, but any Hits rolled can be placed in contact with any previously placed marker (p160, Multiple Barrages, second and third bullet points).
|
|
 |
 |
|