Switch Theme:

Newbie Question about using dataslates  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Raging Ravener





I'm just coming back to the game after about a 4 year hiatus, so obviously 40K has changed radically since I last played.

I have a question about using dataslates and formations.

For example, can I take The Children of Cryptus dataslate to fulfill a FOC TROOP requirement in my primary Tyranid detachment, or do all FOC requirements have to come from my primary detachment's codex?


I appreciate any insight into this.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/04 18:33:46


 
   
Made in us
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis




On the Internet

The Children of Cryptus formation would be outside of your normal FOC. That said you could still use it as your primary (as your primary is just the detachment your Warlord is in).

7th is a very free flowing edition in terms of what you can do to build a legal army.
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener





 ClockworkZion wrote:
The Children of Cryptus formation would be outside of your normal FOC. That said you could still use it as your primary (as your primary is just the detachment your Warlord is in).

7th is a very free flowing edition in terms of what you can do to build a legal army.


So if I just wanted to include The Children in my Army, without making it the primary detachment, I would still have to fulfill the FOC requirements from my Primary detachment codex?
   
Made in us
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis




On the Internet

LemanRuse wrote:
 ClockworkZion wrote:
The Children of Cryptus formation would be outside of your normal FOC. That said you could still use it as your primary (as your primary is just the detachment your Warlord is in).

7th is a very free flowing edition in terms of what you can do to build a legal army.


So if I just wanted to include The Children in my Army, without making it the primary detachment, I would still have to fulfill the FOC requirements from my Primary detachment codex?

Yup.

You can use the FOC in Leviathan or the main rulebook as the core of your army, and just add the detachment to the side.
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






No no no. The Children of Cryptus is just the Genestealer unit with the Broodlord, not the full Formation. That's called the Phodian Annihilation Swarm or something like that. You can ABSOLUTELY take the Children as a troop choice. They're only separate if you use the full Formation and the Formation becomes a separate Detachment that doesn't influence your main Detachment.

Just to absolutely clear, you are asking to include the Genestealers from Deathstorm as one of the troops in a 1HQ 2 Troops requirement, correct?
   
Made in us
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis




On the Internet

 SharkoutofWata wrote:
No no no. The Children of Cryptus is just the Genestealer unit with the Broodlord, not the full Formation. That's called the Phodian Annihilation Swarm or something like that. You can ABSOLUTELY take the Children as a troop choice. They're only separate if you use the full Formation and the Formation becomes a separate Detachment that doesn't influence your main Detachment.

I stand corrected. Good catch.
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener





 ClockworkZion wrote:
LemanRuse wrote:
 ClockworkZion wrote:
The Children of Cryptus formation would be outside of your normal FOC. That said you could still use it as your primary (as your primary is just the detachment your Warlord is in).

7th is a very free flowing edition in terms of what you can do to build a legal army.


So if I just wanted to include The Children in my Army, without making it the primary detachment, I would still have to fulfill the FOC requirements from my Primary detachment codex?


Yup.

You can use the FOC in Leviathan or the main rulebook as the core of your army, and just add the detachment to the side.


Cool. Thanks for the info.

I just ordered Shield of Baal: Leviathan rules from Amazon. Good to hear that it really opens up some interesting possibilities.

I'm really liking this edition, but man is there a learning curve, especially if you are rusty like me.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
 SharkoutofWata wrote:
No no no. The Children of Cryptus is just the Genestealer unit with the Broodlord, not the full Formation. That's called the Phodian Annihilation Swarm or something like that. You can ABSOLUTELY take the Children as a troop choice. They're only separate if you use the full Formation and the Formation becomes a separate Detachment that doesn't influence your main Detachment.

Just to absolutely clear, you are asking to include the Genestealers from Deathstorm as one of the troops in a 1HQ 2 Troops requirement, correct?


yeah.

Just the children (stealers and broodlord) as a troop choice in my primary detachment.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/04 20:26:39


 
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






Leviathan has a good number of options for Tyranids and it really is Codex: Part 2. Even has some models not in the actual codex.


Then yes, you can make the Children as a Troops choice. No special requirements or anything like that other than they have to be built exactly as it is told to be.
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener





 SharkoutofWata wrote:
Leviathan has a good number of options for Tyranids and it really is Codex: Part 2. Even has some models not in the actual codex.


Then yes, you can make the Children as a Troops choice. No special requirements or anything like that other than they have to be built exactly as it is told to be.


I appreciate the help.

   
Made in us
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis




On the Internet

 SharkoutofWata wrote:
Leviathan has a good number of options for Tyranids and it really is Codex: Part 2. Even has some models not in the actual codex.


Then yes, you can make the Children as a Troops choice. No special requirements or anything like that other than they have to be built exactly as it is told to be.

You kind find the rules for those models on the GW website. Just visit the model page and you can get rules for things like the Tyrannocyte for free.

But yes it's a good book for those who want it.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Halandri

Note the broodlord will only benefit from his warlord trait if you elect to use him as your warlord!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: