Switch Theme:

Life Leech: A way to raise the dead?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Roarin' Runtherd





Mississippi

I was skimming through the Psychic Powers section of the Rule Book earlier, and I happened across Life Leech under Biomancy. At first glance, I thought "Well that spell's is no good except for on the Psyker, or on a model with two or more Wounds because a model dropped below one Wound is removed as a casualty, and the majority of the models with my Psyker only have one wound". Then I noticed something..."regains a Wound lost earlier in the battle". Now, I know it's taking RAR, but to me, that sounds like you could raise a one Wound model back from the dead. Considering my Psyker is palling around with a group of Chaos Terminators, bringing one Terminator back from the dead per Psychic Phase is kind of...*Mr. Burns fingers...nasty! Am I interpreting this right, or is there a superseding rule that says No one can be brought back from the dead, etc? I'm feeling a little verklempt. Talk ammongst yourselves.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/03/09 06:40:43


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

A model that does not exist on the tabletop can not possibly regain " a Wound lost earlier in the battle"

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in de
Experienced Maneater






A dead model is no longer on the table, so you can't target it with the power.
   
Made in us
Roarin' Runtherd





Mississippi

My joy, she has been shattered.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Just curious, but how would you handle a psyker with multiple or only a singe wound losing his last wound due to perils while casting this power? You still resolve the power even if the psyker is going to die.

I see it going one of two ways, 1) Completely resolve the power first including gaining of the one wound, then losing said wound due to perils. This leaves the multi wound psyker alive and the single wound psyker dead. Or 2) Resolve perils first including taking a wound. Then resolve the power but as the psykers are at zero wounds they are dead and they have no permission to come back.

Obviously I need to re-read the psychic phase to see exactly when I need to resolve the perils.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





You resolve the Perils first (as per the Psychic rules), you then resolve the power as the Psyker is dead no models in the target unit are within range and LoS of the firing model so you can not do any damage and thus can not regain any wounds.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Perils is resolved prior to resolving the power, so you'd do nothing since you can't draw LoS to the target.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Indeed; a lot of people seem to default to the fantasy resolve first, perils after approach, however in 40k it is explicitly the other way around.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: