Switch Theme:

Escape hatch - quick question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster





Moon Township, PA

I just want to confirm, there is nothing preventing me from moving infantry or vehicles on or over the escape hatch. So, if I parked a rhino on top of it, the occupants could not exit using it. Is this correct?

Thanks in advance.

 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






The hatch itself is just a token/marker of the embarkation point. It is supposed to be modeled appropriately however as an actual hatch or tunnel entrance.

You can block embarkation points on vehicles if you completely surround them so I dont see why you couldnt in this situation, however I would make you take a DT test when you drive over it.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

To my knowledge, correct.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

*fluff*
It's supposed to be hidden so you would not know (and "plan") where to block it.
*/fluff*

Per the rules, as long as you block the exit, as per the emergency disembarkation rules, the models would be destroyed (if you surround the Building too)

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






Not sure about this. If the hatch is treated as an access point on the building can you even move within 1" of it in the first place?
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Tonberry7 wrote:
Not sure about this. If the hatch is treated as an access point on the building can you even move within 1" of it in the first place?


What do you mean?

The "escape Hatch token" is a rule, it is not a model or part of the building (for the "cannot be within 1 inch" rule). Well i do not think it is. So there is no restrictions on parking over it (and blocking the access point). Which would then enforce Emergency Disembarkation (and possible model removal)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/09 12:20:56


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






 BlackTalos wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:
Not sure about this. If the hatch is treated as an access point on the building can you even move within 1" of it in the first place?


What do you mean?

The "escape Hatch token" is a rule, it is not a model or part of the building (for the "cannot be within 1 inch" rule). Well i do not think it is. So there is no restrictions on parking over it (and blocking the access point). Which would then enforce Emergency Disembarkation (and possible model removal)


Ok then. I just thought access points were part of the building/transport and wasn't sure how the RAW applied in this situation.
   
Made in us
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster





Moon Township, PA

Well, if they wanted to claim that the hatch was part of the bastion and I could not move within an inch of it....

would that not mean I could then assault/shoot the building via the escape hatch?

 
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






If that were the case then yes, I'd say you probably could.
   
Made in gb
Tough Traitorous Guardsman






Just to check, can you charge out of an escape hatch? And if so can you use it to make a first turn assault.
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

Negative. It counts as disembarking.

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in gb
Tough Traitorous Guardsman






But you can assault from a stationary vehicle right?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





No, not if it's not an assault vehicle.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




There is a rule in stronghold assault that allows assaults after exiting a building, I don't know the exact words for the escape hatch and allowing the assault, but if it doesn't say you can't then using the rules for buildings you could set up a first turn charge.

Edit: As the post below says that you can't assault out of the escape hatch, then no you can't set up a first turn charge with the escape hatch.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/12 21:09:04


 
   
Made in us
Waaagh! Warbiker




Alaska

 King Pyrrhus wrote:
But you can assault from a stationary vehicle right?


The Stronghold Assault book states you cannot assault out of a secret hatch
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






would the hatch at least be difficult terrain?

Battlescribe Catalog Editor - Please report bugs here http://battlescribedata.appspot.com/#/repo/wh40k 
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

axisofentropy wrote:
would the hatch at least be difficult terrain?


No. Not unless Stronghold Assault says otherwise.

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





rigeld2 wrote:
No, not if it's not an assault vehicle.


If the vehicle doesn't move and the unit disembarks it may make it's full actions in any phase. The purpose of an assault vehicle is so that it can move and the unit can then disembark and charge.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

No, you can only charge from an Assault vehicle. Whether the vehicle moves or not is not relevant for the passengers' ability to charge.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





mhalko1 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
No, not if it's not an assault vehicle.


If the vehicle doesn't move and the unit disembarks it may make it's full actions in any phase. The purpose of an assault vehicle is so that it can move and the unit can then disembark and charge.

Completely incorrect. Please re-read the disembarkation rules.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

Buildings have the repel the enemy special rule which allows charging after disembarking.

HOWEVER, the escape hatch specifically states that you may not use the repel the enemy special rule after disembarking from the hatch

"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in gb
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian




rigeld2 wrote:
mhalko1 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
No, not if it's not an assault vehicle.


If the vehicle doesn't move and the unit disembarks it may make it's full actions in any phase. The purpose of an assault vehicle is so that it can move and the unit can then disembark and charge.

Completely incorrect. Please re-read the disembarkation rules.


Yep completely incorrect, however, I personally think this would be a decent rule.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: