Switch Theme:

Two Orky questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





United Kingdom

Hi all,

1) Suppose my opponent has bubble-wrapped his tank with infantry that are in the way of my boyz. If I shoot them to clear a path, I have to charge them rather than the tank.

My boss nob has a kombi-skorcha. It can't hurt the tank, but the template would "accidentally" hit the infantry in between, thus clearing a path for a charge. Is there any reason why I can't do this?

2) The Council of Waaagh! formation includes nobz. Nobz can take dedicated transport battlewagons. Can I therefore take a DT battlewagon for the formation?

Cheers!
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone




North Carolina

This is WHFB forum not WH40K however I will try to answer your question.

Nothing stops you from targeting the tank with your weapons and template weapons clearing the way. The only thing you can't do is target the infantry then charge the tank.

Yes you can. Formations just say if you buy all of these units together they get this special rule. You can upgrade them however you like unless other wise stated in the data slate.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/09 13:20:24


Farsight Enclaves: 3500Pt
AM Tank Company: 1500Pt
 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





I can't specifically think of anything saying you couldn't target the tank with a flame template... you might get some people complaining about it, but there's really nothing saying you can't at least fire a weapon that won't hurt a vehicles. Guard would have the option of shooting a rhino with lasguns, they just wouldn't hurt it. The only thing you'd have to be certain of is that the template would touch the tank, while also creating a wide enough path to charge through.

And as above, as long as a formation doesn't prohibit anything or say "you can only take this", you can throw whatever gear (or vehicles) that unit can select as options.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/03/09 14:47:05


 
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





Indianapolis, IN

 Krusha wrote:
Hi all,

1) Suppose my opponent has bubble-wrapped his tank with infantry that are in the way of my boyz. If I shoot them to clear a path, I have to charge them rather than the tank.

My boss nob has a kombi-skorcha. It can't hurt the tank, but the template would "accidentally" hit the infantry in between, thus clearing a path for a charge. Is there any reason why I can't do this?

2) The Council of Waaagh! formation includes nobz. Nobz can take dedicated transport battlewagons. Can I therefore take a DT battlewagon for the formation?

Cheers!


Question 1: yes, you would declare that the target of the combi-weapons is the tank. Template still hits all models under it.

Question 2: yes you can take the battle wagon as the DT. If i'm not mistaken the rest of the models that make up the formation outside of the nobz are IC. They can join the squad as normal in the transport.

Armies:
The Iron Waagh: 10,000+ 8th Edition Tournament Record: 4-7-1
Salamanders: 5,000 8th Edition Tournament Record: 4-2
Ultramarines: 4,000
Armored Battle Company (DKoK): 4000
Elysians: 500
Khorne Daemons: 2500
 
   
Made in gb
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





United Kingdom

Sorry guys, I was posting on my mobile, got the wrong forum by a accident. Cheers for responses
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





Indianapolis, IN

 Krusha wrote:
Sorry guys, I was posting on my mobile, got the wrong forum by a accident. Cheers for responses


No you are on the right Forum for asking rules question in regard to a 40k army/ element. According to my page this is the 40k You Make Da Call subforum under the 40k Main forum. I think he was just trying to mess with you.

Armies:
The Iron Waagh: 10,000+ 8th Edition Tournament Record: 4-7-1
Salamanders: 5,000 8th Edition Tournament Record: 4-2
Ultramarines: 4,000
Armored Battle Company (DKoK): 4000
Elysians: 500
Khorne Daemons: 2500
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Glitcha wrote:
 Krusha wrote:
Sorry guys, I was posting on my mobile, got the wrong forum by a accident. Cheers for responses


No you are on the right Forum for asking rules question in regard to a 40k army/ element. According to my page this is the 40k You Make Da Call subforum under the 40k Main forum. I think he was just trying to mess with you.

You do realize that mods can move threads if posted in the wrong forum?

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





Indianapolis, IN

 Ghaz wrote:
 Glitcha wrote:
 Krusha wrote:
Sorry guys, I was posting on my mobile, got the wrong forum by a accident. Cheers for responses


No you are on the right Forum for asking rules question in regard to a 40k army/ element. According to my page this is the 40k You Make Da Call subforum under the 40k Main forum. I think he was just trying to mess with you.

You do realize that mods can move threads if posted in the wrong forum?


Did not think about that. There was nothing on the page to indicate it had been moved. Sorry.

Armies:
The Iron Waagh: 10,000+ 8th Edition Tournament Record: 4-7-1
Salamanders: 5,000 8th Edition Tournament Record: 4-2
Ultramarines: 4,000
Armored Battle Company (DKoK): 4000
Elysians: 500
Khorne Daemons: 2500
 
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





The only problem targeting the tank with the skorcha is that the template must cover as much of the tank as possible, which means you might not have an optimum shot on the infantry.

If so, the assault corridor might be so narrow you cant legally pass through to the tank (you need 3 inches minimum.)

If that doesn't work, flame the infantry and multi-charge them and the tank. Just make sure a boy is closest and all the infantry will have an ork boy "partner" so your nob would be free to go to the secondary unit (the tank.)
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 JimOnMars wrote:
If so, the assault corridor might be so narrow you cant legally pass through to the tank (you need 3 inches minimum.)

No you don't. You need enough for a single base to squeeze through.

All of the models in a charging unit make their charge move – up to the 2D6 distance you rolled earlier – following the same rules as in the Movement phase, with the exception that they can be moved within 1" of enemy models.


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





All of the models in a charging unit make their charge move – up to the 2D6 distance you rolled earlier – following the same rules as in the Movement phase, with the exception that they can be moved within 1" of enemy models.


I was under the impression that this exception only applied to units that you were charging, and that you had to keep away from other enemy models. I will see what my group says next time we play.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





For context, the entire paragraph:
Spoiler:
Moving Charging Models
Charging units must attempt to move into base contact with as many opposing models in the enemy unit as possible with as many of their models as possible – no holding back or trying to avoid terrain! All of the models in a charging unit make their charge move – up to the 2D6 distance you rolled earlier – following the same rules as in the Movement phase, with the exception that they can be moved within 1" of enemy models. Charging models still cannot move through friendly or enemy models, and cannot move into base contact with enemy models from a unit they are not charging (a unit can charge more than one enemy unit by declaring a multiple charge – this is described in the Multiple Combats section).


Since they explicitly forbid getting into base contact with units you're not charging it's obvious that it means all enemy models, not just the one's you're charging.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





United Kingdom

Well, I was thinking, as long as the nob can get to work with his power klaw it's happy days!
   
Made in us
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






And once you clear a path you can also declare a multiple charge. Sure you would lose the extra attack for charging, but then you could get the nob with the PK to the tank, and the boyz to hit the infantry.

DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+

"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: