Switch Theme:

Sequence of events: Lictors that go to ground  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Let's say during a tyranid opponent's turn a lictor goes to ground assuming it is out of synapse range allowing it to do so.

Let's say a synapse creature comes into range on the following movement phase, will this:

1) Allow the Lictor to move and shoot assuming it passes its IB roll?
2) Allow the Lictor to move and shoot assuming it failed its IB roll and has fallen back?
3) Allow the Lictor to fire at full bs, or will it snap shoot its flesh hooks?

I have ideas of how I think this all works but want to make sure I am on the same page.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






An instinctive behavior test is not required of the Lictor at the beginning of your turn. When the synapse creature comes into range of the Lictor the effects of having gone to ground are immediately canceled (cause the lictor is now fearless and thats what happens when a unit that has gone to ground suddenly becomes fearless). In your example this is happening after the IB would have been taken but there is nothing to suggest it needs to take one now. Since the effects of the previous IB test have worn off there is nothing IB is doing to influance the behavior of the Lictor. It gets to act normally.
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon





NJ

A Tyranid unit that has gone to ground does not need to take an IB test. So although it would sequentially need to test before you can move the Flyrant into synapse range, it bypasses the test due to the instinctive behavior rule. Once the Flyrant brings it into synapse range, it can act completely normally. It's as if it never went to ground in the first place. Lictors OP
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

It still has to take an IB as it's at the beginning of your turn (before movement, ref. pg 17, BRB - The Turn). Ld 10 should mean your Ok though (if you pass then you can control it like any other model)

In the instance you fail and fall back, as soon as you get into Synapse range you immediately become Fearless and auto-regroup. Since you regrouped, you will count as having moved and fires Snap Shots in the Shooting phase (and Overwatch) but can not run or charge (pg 57, BRB - Morale, Regrouping).

EDIT: I neglected to read my Codex - can i even read

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/17 23:43:32


YMDC = nightmare 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






I would like to say IB is very poorly written. It starts by telling you to take the test at the start of "your turn" but not if the model has gone to ground "this turn". Your turn clearly means we are dealing with player turns, not game turns but unit cannot go to ground "this turn" before the turn even starts (player turn remember). So "this turn" must be referring to game terms. Ok that's great, unless the Tyranid player goes 1st. Then the unit may have gone to ground in the enemy's last shooting phase but that was last turn, and it still would not have gone to ground 'this turn'. I'm forced to assume they either mean this player turn and the most immediate enemy player turn when they say "this turn" or that the line about having gone to ground this turn was only intended to apply to my units that have charged and gone to ground during over-watch in game where my opponent goes 1st.

So, I have to qualify my answer above as a RAI and not a RAW answer.

edit: nvm

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/18 22:12:48


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 DJGietzen wrote:
I would like to say IB is very poorly written. It starts by telling you to take the test at the start of "your turn" but not if the model has gone to ground "this turn". Your turn clearly means we are dealing with player turns, not game turns but unit cannot go to ground "this turn" before the turn even starts (player turn remember). So "this turn" must be referring to game terms. Ok that's great, unless the Tyranid player goes 1st. Then the unit may have gone to ground in the enemy's last shooting phase but that was last turn, and it still would not have gone to ground 'this turn'. I'm forced to assume they either mean this player turn and the most immediate enemy player turn when they say "this turn" or that the line about having gone to ground this turn was only intended to apply to my units that have charged and gone to ground during over-watch in game where my opponent goes 1st.

So, I have to qualify my answer above as a RAI and not a RAW answer.


The Gone to Ground does not have a "this turn" to it. The "this turn" in the rules refers to units arriving from reserve this turn.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: