Switch Theme:

Does a Flyer have to go into hover mode for troops to disembark?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster





Can a flyer drop off troops at the start of the turn and then keep zooming?
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





 Farseer Will wrote:
Can a flyer drop off troops at the start of the turn and then keep zooming?


your flyer must be in hover mode. that is unless it is a stormraven because i believe they have a special rule that lets them
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

Normal Flyers have to be in Hover to embark/disembark units. Meaning you have to declare Hover at the start of their movement and cannot change back to Zooming until the start of their next movement phase.

Necron Night Scythes, however, have their own special rules for disembarking. Stormravens also have a special rule that allows units to "deepstrike" out of them

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/19 20:59:49


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






I think AM Scions can also chute out of their zooming flyers too. These are all exceptions to the general rule that they must hover to disembark, yes.

Battlescribe Catalog Editor - Please report bugs here http://battlescribedata.appspot.com/#/repo/wh40k 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

axisofentropy wrote:
I think AM Scions can also chute out of their zooming flyers too. These are all exceptions to the general rule that they must hover to disembark, yes.
It's a rule for Valkyries/Vendettas. Works for anyone embarked on them, not just Scions.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Basically, it boils down to the flyer. Many flyers have a rule that allows a unit to disembark while the flyer is zooming but there is no general permission to do so. Each flyer's special rule to allow units to disembark while zooming (if it has such a rule, not all do) can be different from one another and some can be more "safe" then others.

Its important to note that you choose if a flyer with hover is in zoom mode or not before the flyer movers OR before any one disembarks. This means you can't hover on turn 4, drop off passengers on turn 5 then decide the flyer will zoom on turn 5. It would have to stay in hover mode through all of turn 5 as well.
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon





NJ

Technically no they do not. However, you have to move 6" or less to allow them to disembark (outside of a few exceptions already mentioned) and you must be in hover mode to move that little. Zooming you typically will have to move at least 18". So in short, most of the time yes. Unless there is a rule that explicitly says otherwise
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 grendel083 wrote:
axisofentropy wrote:
I think AM Scions can also chute out of their zooming flyers too. These are all exceptions to the general rule that they must hover to disembark, yes.
It's a rule for Valkyries/Vendettas. Works for anyone embarked on them, not just Scions.


True but if they scatter they all take dangerous terrain tests since they are jumping out of a flier
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 luke1705 wrote:
Technically no they do not. However, you have to move 6" or less to allow them to disembark (outside of a few exceptions already mentioned) and you must be in hover mode to move that little. Zooming you typically will have to move at least 18". So in short, most of the time yes. Unless there is a rule that explicitly says otherwise


Actually that is wrong. There is a specific rule stating you cannot be zooming and disembark (or rahter, that to disembark you must be Hovering)
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: