Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/22 03:09:55
Subject: Supporting fire clarification
|
 |
Violent Space Marine Dedicated to Khorne
Ottawa, Ontario
|
So a situation came up yesterday in our game:
A squad of Tau Firewarriors were assaulted by a lucky shokk attack gun roll. A unit of Orks then charged the engaged Firewarriors. There were two units with supporting fire within 6 inches of the Firewarriors in question.
Question is: Do the two units who are unengaged get to fire overwatch on the unit of Orks?
The Tau player assumed yes because the way we read the codex (I agree) is that they are within 6 inches so it's all good. Obviously the Ork player said that since it was written "as if they were the unit being charged" and the unit being charged was engaged, they weren't allowed; it would be too overpowered otherwise.
Thoughts?
P.S. I tried searching for the answer to this but couldn't find anything deffinitely specific about it, sorry if it's been answered.
|
BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD! SKULLS FOR THE SKULL THRONE! MILK FOR THE KHORNE FLAKES!
 3000+
3000+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/22 04:23:16
Subject: Supporting fire clarification
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Supporting Fire actually says, "as if they were also targets of the charge."
This is different to, "as if they were the unit being charged."
The other units get to use their Supporting Fire.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/22 04:50:51
Subject: Re:Supporting fire clarification
|
 |
Violent Space Marine Dedicated to Khorne
Ottawa, Ontario
|
Yeah, I guess you're right, didn't have the codex in front of me. But still though, couldn't they have worded it more explicitly? Then again they don't have the best track record when it comes to ambiguous rules.
|
BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD! SKULLS FOR THE SKULL THRONE! MILK FOR THE KHORNE FLAKES!
 3000+
3000+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/22 10:26:15
Subject: Supporting fire clarification
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I didn't think over watch could work, as the orks are suddenly engaged. Meaning if they were the targets of the charge, they could not fire as they, the targets , are engaged. It simply bypasses any over watch ability.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/22 10:29:59
Subject: Supporting fire clarification
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
The Orks would not be engaged until after Overwatch (including Supporting Fire) are resolved. The two other units are not engaged in any combat but are within Supporting Fire range, and are therefore able to fire Overwatch as if they were the target of the charge (but are in fact not).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/22 10:31:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/22 10:45:22
Subject: Supporting fire clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
There is no overwatch in the case of the Shokk Attakk gun.
Overwatch is something that occurs after having declared a charge.
BRB wrote:As soon as a charge has been declared against one of your units, that unit can immediately fire Overwatch at the would-be attacker – it doesn’t have to, but it’s often a good idea.
Codex Orks wrote:5,5 Zoink! No shot is fired. Immediately place the Mek in base contact with the closest model or point on the target unit, and treat them as being locked in combat.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/03/22 12:09:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/22 11:12:29
Subject: Supporting fire clarification
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
The unit of Orkz declares the charge, not the Mek. The Mek has already engaged Fire Warrior unit A. Then the unit of Orkz declares a charge against Fire Warrior unit A, which is engaged, and the OP is asking whether Fire Warrior units B and C, which are within 6" of unit A, are able to use Supporting Fire.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/22 12:06:52
Subject: Supporting fire clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
My bad, I should've read in more detail  - I was mostly reacting to nosferatu's intervention which refers to the SAG itself.
The wording of Supporting Fire is abundantly clear, so they also get to fire overwatch.
When an enemy unit declares a charge, all friendly models
with this special rule in units within 6" of the charging unit’s
target can choose to fire Overwatch as if they were also
targets of the charge. Remember that a unit can still only
fire Overwatch once each phase.
Imagine you multi-charge a unit that is locked and units that are not locked, these units will be able to fire overwatch.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/03/22 12:09:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/22 13:11:23
Subject: Supporting fire clarification
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Apologies, I misread the first scenario...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/22 16:15:09
Subject: Re:Supporting fire clarification
|
 |
Violent Space Marine Dedicated to Khorne
Ottawa, Ontario
|
Alright guys, thanks for all the clarification. Seems like there is a gerneal consensus everywhere I look when it comes to supporting fire. Our Ork player might not be happy but there isn't much he can do. And I'll be using more dirge casters.
|
BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD! SKULLS FOR THE SKULL THRONE! MILK FOR THE KHORNE FLAKES!
 3000+
3000+ |
|
 |
 |
|