Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/22 23:15:14
Subject: Can Swarms use emplaced guns?
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
I'm specifically thinking of Quad Guns, but I'm not sure. Nurglings have a BS, but I'm trying to think of why.
|
~1.5k
Successful Trades: Ashrog (1), Iron35 (1), Rathryan (3), Leth (1), Eshm (1), Zeke48 (1), Gorkamorka12345 (1),
Melevolence (2), Ascalam (1), Swanny318, (1) ScootyPuffJunior, (1) LValx (1), Jim Solo (1), xSoulgrinderx (1), Reese (1), Pretre (1) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/22 23:20:50
Subject: Can Swarms use emplaced guns?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Anything with a BS can fire the Guns, unless they have a rule that says they cant.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/23 02:10:45
Subject: Can Swarms use emplaced guns?
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
LoS is determined from the model, right?
|
~1.5k
Successful Trades: Ashrog (1), Iron35 (1), Rathryan (3), Leth (1), Eshm (1), Zeke48 (1), Gorkamorka12345 (1),
Melevolence (2), Ascalam (1), Swanny318, (1) ScootyPuffJunior, (1) LValx (1), Jim Solo (1), xSoulgrinderx (1), Reese (1), Pretre (1) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/23 02:35:11
Subject: Can Swarms use emplaced guns?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Correct
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/23 02:48:00
Subject: Can Swarms use emplaced guns?
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
If the quad gun is being treated as a gun emplacement, yes, you trace line of sight from the model firing it.
If the quad gun is being treated as an emplaced weapon (for instance when it it purchased as an upgrade for a building and placed on it's battlements) then the line of sight is traced from the barrels. (p.112)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/23 03:10:09
Subject: Can Swarms use emplaced guns?
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
I use nurglings to man my quad guns and FOR all the time.
If nothing else, I love imagining them piling up to man the guns...
|
The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/23 04:17:52
Subject: Can Swarms use emplaced guns?
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Bojazz wrote:
If the quad gun is being treated as a gun emplacement, yes, you trace line of sight from the model firing it.
If the quad gun is being treated as an emplaced weapon (for instance when it it purchased as an upgrade for a building and placed on it's battlements) then the line of sight is traced from the barrels. (p.112)
So for a Bastion, where it is purchased as an upgrade, it's from the gun, but for an Aegis Line, would it be the same, because it's a purchase? I'm sorry, I'm not seeing how the two are different from what you posted.
|
~1.5k
Successful Trades: Ashrog (1), Iron35 (1), Rathryan (3), Leth (1), Eshm (1), Zeke48 (1), Gorkamorka12345 (1),
Melevolence (2), Ascalam (1), Swanny318, (1) ScootyPuffJunior, (1) LValx (1), Jim Solo (1), xSoulgrinderx (1), Reese (1), Pretre (1) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/23 04:55:00
Subject: Can Swarms use emplaced guns?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
jreilly89 wrote:So for a Bastion, where it is purchased as an upgrade, it's from the gun, but for an Aegis Line, would it be the same, because it's a purchase? I'm sorry, I'm not seeing how the two are different from what you posted.
An Aegis line is stated as counting as a gun emplacement from memory, versus emplaced weapons (described as built-in weapons for buildings) which have different rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/23 04:56:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/23 05:26:19
Subject: Can Swarms use emplaced guns?
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Mr. Shine wrote: jreilly89 wrote:So for a Bastion, where it is purchased as an upgrade, it's from the gun, but for an Aegis Line, would it be the same, because it's a purchase? I'm sorry, I'm not seeing how the two are different from what you posted.
An Aegis line is stated as counting as a gun emplacement from memory, versus emplaced weapons (described as built-in weapons for buildings) which have different rules.
That makes sense, thank you.
|
~1.5k
Successful Trades: Ashrog (1), Iron35 (1), Rathryan (3), Leth (1), Eshm (1), Zeke48 (1), Gorkamorka12345 (1),
Melevolence (2), Ascalam (1), Swanny318, (1) ScootyPuffJunior, (1) LValx (1), Jim Solo (1), xSoulgrinderx (1), Reese (1), Pretre (1) |
|
 |
 |
|
|