Switch Theme:

Noob question about assault phase  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I am just getting started (using old 5th edition rulebooks but let me know if this is different in 7th) and I have a question on the assault phase that I can't seem to find a clear answer on.

If I have multiple units all within assault range and capable of assaulting at the start of the assault phase, do I move one unit and completely resolve that assault before I even move the second unit? Or do I move all of them first then resolve all the various assaults in initiative order?

More specifically, I'll give an example and the way i *think* I am supposed to be doing this. Please correct me where I am going wrong:

Space Marine units Alpha and Omega did not shoot in the shooting phase, so they are both completely free to assault any opponent unit.

They are fighting an Ork Boy unit 'Muddy' and a Nob unit 'Bloody'. Both Alpha and Omega are within 6 inches of Muddy, and Omega is within 6 inches of Bloody.

Assault phase begins. I have to declare that Alpha and Omega are both going to charge.

I move Alpha into contact with Muddy.

Before rolling any dice or allowing defenders to react, I move Omega into contact with Muddy AND Bloody.

Now I do the Defenders React move, so Muddy closes in with both Alpha and Omega. Bloody closes in only with Omega (even if at this point Bloody could have reached Alpha, it cannot contact him legally.)

Now we go in Initiative order to resolve attacks. Alpha, Omega, and Bloody all have init 3, so i resolve all their attacks simultaneously. Then Muddy on initiative 2.

Alpha attacks Muddy, doing whatever wounds. We'll say 3 wounds to Muddy.

Omega attacks Muddy AND Bloody, separately, splitting his attacks between them based on how many units were in base contact/engaged. We'll say he did 2 wounds to Muddy and 2 to Bloody.

Bloody attacks Omega. He does 3 wounds to Omega.

Finally, Muddy attacks Alpha. He can NOT split his attacks between Alpha and Omega even though he is engaged with both of them, because Alpha was the first to contact him. (NOT SURE THIS IS CORRECT). He does 3 wounds to Alpha.

Assume everyone fails all their armor saves to make things easier. So now we resolve who won the assaults. We have 2 defenders so we have 2 assaults to resolve.

The Alpha & Omega assault vs. Muddy = Alpha & Omega did 5 wounds, Muddy did 3 wounds. So Muddy is the loser and may be destroyed or fall back based on the Morale check and initiative rolls.

The Omega assault vs. Bloody = Omega did 2 wounds, Bloody did 3 wounds. So Omega is the loser and may be destroyed or fall back based on the Morale check and initiative rolls.

So... is all of that correct?




   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





bb77 wrote:
Assault phase begins. I have to declare that Alpha and Omega are both going to charge.

In 5th that was true. In 7th it's changed significantly - you declare one unit to charge at a time, and then resolve Overwatch and determine charge distance per unit before moving on to declare the next one.

Finally, Muddy attacks Alpha. He can NOT split his attacks between Alpha and Omega even though he is engaged with both of them, because Alpha was the first to contact him. (NOT SURE THIS IS CORRECT). He does 3 wounds to Alpha.

Not true in 5th or 7th. I don't remember 100% for 5th, but in 7th each model attacks the unit he's in B2B with.

Assume everyone fails all their armor saves to make things easier. So now we resolve who won the assaults. We have 2 defenders so we have 2 assaults to resolve.

Nope. It's all one huge assault - you total all of it up.

The Alpha & Omega assault vs. Muddy = Alpha & Omega did 5 wounds, Muddy did 3 wounds. So Muddy is the loser and may be destroyed or fall back based on the Morale check and initiative rolls.

The Omega assault vs. Bloody = Omega did 2 wounds, Bloody did 3 wounds. So Omega is the loser and may be destroyed or fall back based on the Morale check and initiative rolls.

5 + 2 vs 3 + 3 = 7 vs 6 means the orks lost combat and can potentially be run down.


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




A and O can charge.
A declares its charge against M. M fires its overwatch. A then rolls its charge range and either suceeds and moves its charge distance into BTB with M or stays put (fails charge)

O then declares its charge against both M and B. B fires its overwatch against O. M cannot as it is locked in combat and/or already fired at A. O rolls its charge range and then moves that distance. It must attempt to base as many of M as it can before it can base a model from B and must still be in coherency.

Charge phase end.

Fight Subphase begins starting at Init 10 and going down to 1. Models resolve their attacks by who they are in base contact with. If they are in base with more than 1 unit they can attack either unit.

Once all wounds are resolved, you total the wound caused by all the units in the combat and compare. Losing side makes it morale as needed.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks!
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Devastator




Bournemouth

rigeld2 wrote:

Finally, Muddy attacks Alpha. He can NOT split his attacks between Alpha and Omega even though he is engaged with both of them, because Alpha was the first to contact him. (NOT SURE THIS IS CORRECT). He does 3 wounds to Alpha.

Not true in 5th or 7th. I don't remember 100% for 5th, but in 7th each model attacks the unit he's in B2B with.




Ok ignore, re-read the assault rules sry

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/25 18:04:44


WH40K
Iron Wardens 11k (Iron Hands Clan Raukaan with Blood Angels Allies)
Guard PDF 1.5k
Hive Fleet Celesta 3.5k
Irontoof Guttasnarks's Warghband 0k in development 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: