Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/26 21:36:12
Subject: Flying Gargantuan Creatures and Vector Strike
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Can a Harridan (has two Biocannons) fire both Biocannons if it Vector Strikes?
The rules for Gargantuan Creatures say they can fire each of their weapons at a different target if desired
Vector Strikes counts as firing one weapon.
Monstrous Creature rules say they can fire two weapons (not Gargantuan but they do follow rules for MC)
I think the Harridan would only fire one as I don't think it's specific enough to say the Harridan can Vector Strike and still fire both weapons
|
YMDC = nightmare |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/26 21:42:21
Subject: Flying Gargantuan Creatures and Vector Strike
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Vector Strike counts as firing a weapon. A harridan has 2 biocannons and let's say another weapon called "vector strike" it has fired that weapon, how many bio cannons can it fire? Your argument is the same one people had thinking that Vector Strike prevented the Helldrake from firing its baleflamer...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/26 21:52:15
Subject: Flying Gargantuan Creatures and Vector Strike
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Oh wait I think I get it! Since the rules say counts as firing a weapon, not let's say 'replaces one weapon' then you are able to fire as many weapons as possible (which would be all of them in a GC case) Because Flyers can fire four weapons at full BS and Vector Strike would only count as one so 4-1 = 3 remaining. Is this right?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/26 21:52:34
YMDC = nightmare |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/26 22:07:43
Subject: Flying Gargantuan Creatures and Vector Strike
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Correct.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/26 23:48:56
Subject: Flying Gargantuan Creatures and Vector Strike
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Oh something I've just noticed (or can't seem to find) in the Gargantuan Creature rules there isn't any indication of a GC being able to fire all it's weapons
Hierophant has Agile which let's it fire all it's weapons (or run and fire one or run and fire twice). Harridan doesn't.
Is there anywhere in the rulebook that gives GC permission to fire all their weapons or are they still restricted to two as per normal MC rules?
|
YMDC = nightmare |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/26 23:53:49
Subject: Flying Gargantuan Creatures and Vector Strike
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Frozocrone wrote:Oh something I've just noticed (or can't seem to find) in the Gargantuan Creature rules there isn't any indication of a GC being able to fire all it's weapons
Hierophant has Agile which let's it fire all it's weapons (or run and fire one or run and fire twice). Harridan doesn't.
Is there anywhere in the rulebook that gives GC permission to fire all their weapons or are they still restricted to two as per normal MC rules?
"When a Gargantuan Creature or Flying Gargantuan Creature makes a shooting attack, it may fire each of its weapons at a different target if desired."
There you go. It can fire all of its weapons.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/27 06:08:56
Subject: Flying Gargantuan Creatures and Vector Strike
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
That just says it can split its targets up - not fire everything
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/27 06:14:27
Subject: Flying Gargantuan Creatures and Vector Strike
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
|
Super heavies can fire everything.
|
10k+ Tau, Ke'lshan
10k Dark Eldar Kabal of the Flayed skull
1k Scions
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/27 06:20:01
Subject: Flying Gargantuan Creatures and Vector Strike
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Massaen wrote:That just says it can split its targets up - not fire everything
It gives permission for both.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/27 11:23:58
Subject: Flying Gargantuan Creatures and Vector Strike
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So to clarify, Vector Striking would do nothing in regards to shooting since the GC rules state it can fire each of it's weapons (which overrules the limit of 2 weapons for MC)?
|
YMDC = nightmare |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/27 12:01:53
Subject: Flying Gargantuan Creatures and Vector Strike
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, tha is correct. It can VS to its hearts content.
|
|
 |
 |
|