Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/28 22:27:55
Subject: Servo skulls - are they cumulative?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hello
Got a question about servo skulls, are they cumulative? If you are 12inches within two servo skulls does that mean you dont need to roll for scatter?
Got someone at my LGS who does this and it seems crazy powerfull for such a cheap unit. All hit barrage/ deep striking lays waste to my army.
Thanks for the clarification!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/28 23:33:33
Subject: Re:Servo skulls - are they cumulative?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Inquisition codex wrote:Likewise, friendly blast templates placed within 12'' of a Servo-skull roll one D6 less for scatter.
Emphasis mine.
If a target is within 12'' of (for the sake of argument) 5000 servo-skulls, it is within 12'' of a servo-skull. I think the use of "a" means that the blast would roll one less D6 for scatter. I don't think there's any permission to stack the effect.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/28 23:38:32
Subject: Re:Servo skulls - are they cumulative?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
friendly blast templates placed within 12" of a Servo-skull roll one D6 less for scatter.
The rule doesn't care how many Servo Skulls are within 12", the answer to the question is either " Yes, there is a Servo Skull within 12"", or " No, there is not.".
Note that it is cumulative with other rules that have similar effects, such as the Blood Angels accurate Deep-Strike ability (assuming that hasn't changed in the newest Codex - they used to reduce their Deep Strike scatter by 1D6, which would stack with a Servo Skull for a scatter of 0D6).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/28 23:46:42
Subject: Re:Servo skulls - are they cumulative?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Nope. The exact wording is "A friendly unit arriving by Deep Strike rolls one D6 less for scatter if it aims to arrive within 12" of a Servo-skull."
To do what the guy suggested it needs to specifically state that the scatter is reduced for each servo skull within 12". This servo skull rules only require you to meet a threshold. Once that threshold is met you gain a benefit. In this case the DS model needs to be placed within 12" of a servo-skull. This threshold can be meet several times over but it will not change the number of times you get the benefit.
Lets look at a parallel example. In this case we will change the subject from 'a friendly unit arriving by Deep Strike' to 'A large women with body image issues' and we'll change the threshold from 'aims to arrive within 12" of a Servo-skull' to 'takes a jazzercise with a heavyset person' and finally we will change the benefit from 'rolls one D6 less for scatter' to 'feels much better about herself'.That same sentence is now "A large women with body image issues feels much better about herself if she 'takes a jazzercise with a heavyset person."
As you can see in the parallel example, it does not matter how many heavyset people are in her class, she will and can only gain the benefit a single time.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/28 23:51:54
Subject: Re:Servo skulls - are they cumulative?
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Quanar wrote:friendly blast templates placed within 12" of a Servo-skull roll one D6 less for scatter.
The rule doesn't care how many Servo Skulls are within 12", the answer to the question is either " Yes, there is a Servo Skull within 12"", or " No, there is not.".
Note that it is cumulative with other rules that have similar effects, such as the Blood Angels accurate Deep-Strike ability (assuming that hasn't changed in the newest Codex - they used to reduce their Deep Strike scatter by 1D6, which would stack with a Servo Skull for a scatter of 0D6).
Hmm... A thought just occurred. What about the jamming beacon from the SM codex interacting with a servo skull? That makes you roll double the amount for scatter upon Deep Strike.
Or is that a timing thing?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/29 06:23:00
Subject: Servo skulls - are they cumulative?
|
 |
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!
|
I believe that would remove the Servo Skull. If an enemy model gets too close to the servo skull, it is removed from the board, unless that has changed recently. If you're talking about a friendly faction SM jammer, not sure, it would be interesting
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/29 06:24:06
Shadowrun is the best game ever. It's the only thing I have ever played in which I have jumped out of a shot out van with a chainsaw to cut a flying drone in half before leveling a building with ANFO assisted by a troll, a dwarf, an elf, and a wizard. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/29 06:31:41
Subject: Servo skulls - are they cumulative?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Don't forget skulls are removed if an enemy unit gets within 6 inches.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/29 07:46:01
Subject: Re:Servo skulls - are they cumulative?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Thanks heaps for clarifying! I thought the wording was a little ambiguous but didnt exactly specify that they could be cumulative.. So thank you all for clearing that up!
Cheers!!
|
|
 |
 |
|