Switch Theme:

Mawloc questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




This came up in a game I just played. And please, may I have the sections for the rules so we know we're doing things correctly. I have the electronic versions, so page numbers don't help me a whole lot

First my Mawloc was in assault. At the end of my opponent's assault phase, I Hit & Run, made the Init roll and picked a direction. Then I rolled the 3d6. This put me in a situation where I would land within 1" of an enemy model. However, if I rotated the Mawloc, I would not be within 1". We weren't sure if rotating would be legal after the Hit & Run movement.

Second, for Terror from the Deep. If the Mawloc lands on a unit, how do I place the large blast? The wording "place the large blast marker directly over the spot the Mawloc is deep striking onto" is the part in question we weren't sure about. Does the Mawloc need to be fully under the Large Blast? Directly centered under the large blast? Just partially under the blast?

Thanks!
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

1. For anything that is not a vehicle, facing does not matter. When moving a non-vehicle model, the restriction is that any point on its base cannot be farther away than the legal distance. So if you rolled 10", then a point on its base cannot be further away from its starting point than 10".
Since there's no rule governing how you rotate the model, and since you are allowed to rotate the model, it should be fine.

2. After resolving the large blast hits, the Mawloc's base should be centered exactly where the blast hole was. How the Mawloc is rotated is up to the controlling player.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan




Homestead, FL

Mawlocs can turn and do whatever the hell they please since they are technically infantry.

I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Remember all moves are up to. If 11" would put you into a unit, but 9" wouldn't, you can move 9".
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Remember all moves are up to. If 11" would put you into a unit, but 9" wouldn't, you can move 9".


The OP is referring to Hit & Run. Which includes a compulsory movement but also covers (In the H&R rule) what happens if you reach an enemy Unit....

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 Elric Greywolf wrote:
1. For anything that is not a vehicle, facing does not matter. When moving a non-vehicle model, the restriction is that any point on its base cannot be farther away than the legal distance. So if you rolled 10", then a point on its base cannot be further away from its starting point than 10".
Since there's no rule governing how you rotate the model, and since you are allowed to rotate the model, it should be fine.


Thanks. For clarification, I wasn't trying to gain any distance. I had rolled 8", which without rotating, wasn't far enough to be 1" away from enemy models, but with rotating (and not having the base further than 8" from it's starting spot) would have allowed me to Hit & Run.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
A follow-up and something that I need to lookup as I am away from my book atm. But I thought there was wording in the infantry movement section that said that no part of the base can move further than 6". How does that interact here with rotating after a successful Hit & Run? If the oval base rotates, then some part of it will move further than the Hit & Run distance, and some of it will move less than the Hit & Run distance.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/31 19:06:09


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: