Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/04 12:51:43
Subject: Shooting out the cover save, still in cover that turn?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hi
Troop A makes the cover for troop B. If I shoot at troop A and kill everyone and my second troop start to shoot at troop B, (all happens in the same turn).
Will troop B get cover save?
The guy i did play against said that they do get cover save because everything happends at the same time...
Cant find anything in the rulebook, if you can let me know the page, thanks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/04 12:57:03
Subject: Re:Shooting out the cover save, still in cover that turn?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The guy you played against was wrong. In fact, more so than ever, 7th makes it clear that it isn't simultaneous (what with weapons firing at different times from the same unit even). IF you kill Unit A that was providing cover for Unit B, then there's no more cover for Unit B.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/06 08:07:50
Subject: Re:Shooting out the cover save, still in cover that turn?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Ok thanks, do you know the page it in the rulebook?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/06 08:12:38
Subject: Shooting out the cover save, still in cover that turn?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Cover is determined by whether a target unit (i.e. unit B) is sufficiently obscured by either terrain or intervening models (i.e. unit A).
As each model in unit A is removed from the board after suffering unsaved wounds they are no longer on the board to obscure any other unit (i.e. unit B).
Basically, cover is determined and cover saves are taken after wounds are allocated to models. If the models have been removed they are not in place to provide cover.
The onus is in fact on your friend to provide a page reference to show that they provide cover even when removed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/06 09:29:51
Subject: Shooting out the cover save, still in cover that turn?
|
 |
Missionary On A Mission
Australia
|
Page 37 of the BRB tells you how to determine cover saves.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/06 09:54:41
Subject: Shooting out the cover save, still in cover that turn?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Specifically it says, "If, when you come to allocate a wound...is obscured..."
So yes, the obscurement must be at the point at which you allocate a wound; not if it was obscured at the beginning of the phase, or game turn, or whenever
|
|
 |
 |
|