Switch Theme:

Necron taking both Shield of Baal & Necron Codex relics/artifacts  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





I have a friend who is thinking he can give a single model multiple relics and artifacts by combining his Shield of Baal book with the Necron codex. I am already 95% sure that he can't do this, but I don't have the books to point out exactly why he can't (we've just been discussing via email). He's not unreasonable, so if anyone here can help me pinpoint exactly what shows that he can't do this, it would be appreciated.

Thanks!

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




Boston, Massachusetts

As long as you are running a Mephrit detachment, I believe you can include all Necron codex relics in your army.

I don't think you can include Mephrit stuff in a Necron Codex army, but I also don't know if the rules stop you from declaring your Decurion to be a "Mephrit Decurion."
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





 RobPro wrote:
As long as you are running a Mephrit detachment, I believe you can include all Necron codex relics in your army.

I don't think you can include Mephrit stuff in a Necron Codex army, but I also don't know if the rules stop you from declaring your Decurion to be a "Mephrit Decurion."


Thanks! But I mean being able to take both codex and Mephrit stuff *on the same guy*. Isn't there something which states that it's a limit of 1 per guy?

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in ca
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




I'm wondering the same thing. From what I have read it looks like RobPro may be right. GW should FAQ this.
Solar Thermasite is just too good to pass up.

9000
8000
Knights / Assassins 800  
   
Made in us
Outraged Witness





CODEX RELICS:
Necrons eligible to carry a piece of relic wargear may carry relics from the Codex, regardless of whether or not they’re from a Mephrit detachment/formation.
You may have multiple Codex relics in an army.
There is only one of each of the Codex relics in the galaxy, so you can’t have more than one model in the army carrying any particular relic.

MEPHRIT RELICS:
Only Necrons from a Mephrit detachment/formation may carry the Mephrit Dynasty’s relics.
You may have multiple Mephrit relics in an army.
A model may carry any number of Mephrit relics (although no model is eligible to carry more than two of the three relics.)

So yes, so long as a model is eligible to carry those relics, and is a part of one of the five specific Mephrit detachments/formations, that model may carry relics from both books.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/10/18 10:45:50


 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





So just to confirm, a Mephrit Dynasty Necron CCB can use the 2+ armor save relic from Codex Necrons and Solar Thermasite from Codex Mephrit?

But a Codex Necron CCB cannot use Mephrit Dynasty relics because it needs to be a part of the formations/detatchment of Mephrit?

Is there solid backing to this logic or is this just an assumption being made? (I mean this as in Mephrit taking Necron Codex relics)

The reason I ask is because I played at a tournament where I had a Mephrit Cohort with a CCB, I allotted the points to allow for a 2+ armor rerolling 1s with Solar Thermasite, but I was told that I could not take Relics from the Mephrit codex. I still ended up 2-0 but I lost to Tzneetch Daemons in the last round. (2+ armor would of been nice against stuff and things)
   
Made in us
Outraged Witness





Yes, the Overlord on a Catacomb Command Barge, when taken as a part of the Mephrit Dynasty Cohort detachment, is eligible to take relics from both books.

However, tournament organizers are free to interpret the rules however they like. This is essential when using Mephrit rules, as conflicting wording between books will create silly results, such as the Conclave of the Burning One formation being impossible to field.

*edited for clarity, and again for misspelling.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/04/07 02:47:48


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Nothing in the Mephrit rules removes the permission in the codex to take relics. The same is true for the Flesh Tearers in Exterminatus and the BAs, I believe this is because there are only 3 relics for each and they are not full supplements. Compare and contrast with FE, BL, CS etc which clearly state their lists replace those in the respective codexes.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 FlingitNow wrote:
Nothing in the Mephrit rules removes the permission in the codex to take relics. The same is true for the Flesh Tearers in Exterminatus and the BAs, I believe this is because there are only 3 relics for each and they are not full supplements. Compare and contrast with FE, BL, CS etc which clearly state their lists replace those in the respective codexes.


Not true in regards to Flesh Tearers. Under "The Cryptan Alliance" - Unique Wargear.

Any Character with the Blood Angels Faction that can normally select from the Relics of Baal, and is part of a Detachment or Formation presented in this book, can select a relic from those listed in their relevant section instead of from those listed in Codex: Blood Angels at the point cost shown.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ie
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller




Yeah, as mentioned, it's perfectly legal for him.

The relevant rules are "a charachter from a mephrit dynasty formation or detachment may make use of items from the Relics of the war in heaven list"
& "an overlord may take items from the Ranged weapons/melee weapon/artefacts of the aeons Lists"

There are no restrictions anywhere in either book that prohibits it.

It doesn't say "A model may have one relic, these are all relics"

It gives you 2 lists that you may take things from. All eligible codex units may take from artefacts of the aeons. Mephrit characters also have permission to take from "relics from the war in heaven"

They are not mutually exclusive.

On an interesting note, a CCB may not take a thermasite, It is the cryptek/Overlord ONLY. CCB is now a separate entry to overlord.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

You can but probably shouldn't is how I play it.
   
Made in us
Outraged Witness





On an interesting note, a CCB may not take a thermasite, It is the cryptek/Overlord ONLY. CCB is now a separate entry to overlord.


I can see how you'd arrive at that conclusion, but I can't find anything that'd stop an Overlord on a Catacomb Command Barge from taking Solar Thermasite. Check the entry in the Codex – there are two profiles there, and one of them is for the Overlord included in the unit. The Solar Thermasite rules don't say the Overlord must be from any particular unit entry.
   
Made in ie
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





I can see how you'd arrive at that conclusion, but I can't find anything that'd stop an Overlord on a Catacomb Command Barge from taking Solar Thermasite. Check the entry in the Codex – there are two profiles there, and one of them is for the Overlord included in the unit. The Solar Thermasite rules don't say the Overlord must be from any particular unit entry.


Huh. You are absolutely right, I still have it in my head about chariots being one model, I missed the double profile part.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




He isn't eligible, as the overlord on command barge is the entry that is purchasing items, not an overlord.
   
Made in ca
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Read over the exterminatus book last night and its pretty clear that Mephrit relics are only available for Mephrit formations and the Mephrit Dynasty Cohort FOC.

The opening paragraph -
"The following sections describes a new Detachment and a number of Formations that can be used as part of a Necron army."
- I am positive this means that you can field these detachments along with the Codex: Necron forces

"You can add them to an existing army, or use them to field a bespoke army from the Mephrit Dynasty."
- Meaning you can add them Detachments and Formations to Codex: Necron forces or field just a Mephrit Dynasty army.

"Certain units shown from the Mephrit Dynasty Detachment and Formations can also make use of the Relics and Warlord traits listed below."
- Can only use Mephrit Relics with Mephrit Detachments and Formations
--However, it does look like the last part of this sentence suggests that Mephrit can use Codex:Necrons Relics and Warlord traits since it says "can also make use of the Relics and Warlord traits listed below." This would make sense as the many of the formations allow you to reroll on the warlord table if you choose the table from the book rather than the BRB or Codex: Necrons table.

Anyone beg to differ? For me its pretty clear.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/07 13:21:45


9000
8000
Knights / Assassins 800  
   
Made in ie
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller




Naaris you're right. Mephrit units can use Mephrit relics + Codex relics. Other units can use Codex relics but not mephrit ones.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: