Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/09 11:42:11
Subject: Hit & Run, Then Assault Jet Move?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Hey there YMdC!
Played a game last night with my new Harlequins vs Necrons, and I came across an odd situation. I think we resolved it correctly, but I'd like to be sure.
Eldar Jetbikes can do a move in the assault phase of 2d6".
All Harlequins have Hit & Run, which allows them to break from close combat in a direction of my choice by 3d6".
My Skyweavers have both of these rules. After reducing an Immortal squad to 1 member, I Hit & Run my Jetbike to score a Maelstrom card, but the move left me out in the open. I then started doing my Eldar Jetbike moves and realized that this Jetbike wasn't locked in combat. So does that mean that my Jetbike that just Hit & Ran could move again? This was important, because of some nearby terrain that would have shielded me from lots of return fire.
We ruled that it couldn't, because Hit & Run specifies that it happens at the end of the Assault Phase, and the Eldar Jetbike move happens in the Assault Phase. Neither of us were happy with that ruling (since we both realized just how ambiguous that was, isn't the end of the assault phase still in the assault phase?), so we Hand of Fated the rule, and that determined again that I couldn't do it.
That's how we're going to play it for now, but a more firm answer would be appreciated.
Thanks!
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/09 12:06:06
Subject: Hit & Run, Then Assault Jet Move?
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
Interesting question. I always thought the 2d6 move happened instead of charging. But now that I re-read it. I don't see anything about a restriction. Just as long as you don't turbo-boost that turn. So you could even move and THEN charge from what I can tell Oo.
** edit: Re-read the charge rules. Kind of makes charging and moving impossible. If you want to charge, it's the first thing you do in the assault phase, so you wouldn't be able to move first and then charge. **
**** edit: Although I suppose that if you fail the charge, you could still move 2d6 before declaring the next unit. ****
As for your question. At the end of the assault phase is still part of the assault phase to me. You simply choose to do two things at the end of the assault phase and you choose in what order they happen.
That said, I think the intend is that you can do either or, not both. And I would play it as such. Look at page 17 in the BRB. From that I presume they mean that the charge move is happening between the start and end of the phase and the end of phase things are only for triggered stuff. Such as hit and run.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/04/09 12:15:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/09 13:02:06
Subject: Hit & Run, Then Assault Jet Move?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Sequencing only allows us to decide the order when the timing is not obvious, such as two end of phase Rules or two Rule which claim they happen 'immediately.' If one is just 'this phase' and the other is 'end of this phase' then the order is obvious, one has to happen at the end so it has to go last... or else End of Phase would be meaningless.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/09 13:03:22
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/09 13:05:21
Subject: Hit & Run, Then Assault Jet Move?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Okay, I think we got it right then, and for the right reasons.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/09 13:23:22
Subject: Hit & Run, Then Assault Jet Move?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Jinx has it right. Also note the assault move is not allowed during the same turn as a charge.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/10 05:51:32
Subject: Hit & Run, Then Assault Jet Move?
|
 |
Innocent SDF-1 Bridge Bunny
|
But is the assault move allowed in a turn where you leave a combat with hit and run but did not charge?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/10 05:59:12
Subject: Hit & Run, Then Assault Jet Move?
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
That was just an "Also" on the part of Flingit, if you look at what Jinx said it's quite clear. No, due to the timing being a jump move happening "during assault" and hit&run being at "the end of assault". You can't have something happen after "the end of assault", unless it's another rule that also say "the end of assault".
|
|
 |
 |
|