Switch Theme:

Tyranids and gun emplacements  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Oozing Spawning Vat




I have been told that Tyranids cannot use emplaced weapons, auch as quad guns due to a faq, discussion online seems to support this. Now that I am looking for the faq, I can't seem to find it. Can Tyranids use gun emplacements, and can they use other options in stronghold assault, like vortex missiles and comms relays?
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





that was from 6ed
   
Made in mx
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan




Mexico

Nothing on the current rules says that. That's an old rule from a 6th edition rulebook's/5th edition Codex's faq.
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Devastator




Bournemouth

Sorry, slight a-side here. There was actually a rule that stopped 'Nids from using emplacements?

WH40K
Iron Wardens 11k (Iron Hands Clan Raukaan with Blood Angels Allies)
Guard PDF 1.5k
Hive Fleet Celesta 3.5k
Irontoof Guttasnarks's Warghband 0k in development 
   
Made in mx
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan




Mexico

Yes, back when the 6th edition rulebook was released and we still had the 5th edition Tyranid Codex. But it was only for manually using weapons.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/11 14:45:17


 
   
Made in us
Norn Queen






In 6th there was the FAQed rule apparently. While 7th never explicitly changed this 7th also never said it either. So now, by omission Nids can use gun emplacements again. Even though they don't have hands/fingers.

Enjoy!


These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Lance845 wrote:
In 6th there was the FAQed rule apparently. While 7th never explicitly changed this 7th also never said it either. So now, by omission Nids can use gun emplacements again. Even though they don't have hands/fingers.

Enjoy!

Many do, actually. And tentacles work just fine :-)

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

My nurglings man weapons despite their hands being tiiiny.

My wife's Avatar can use a quad gun etc without it melting...

I have no problem with the idea that Nids can do so also

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: