Switch Theme:

Mantis Warriors ruling  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

I'm interested in starting a Mantis Warriors army due to Divination Librarians w/o allies and the fluff.

I looked at the chapter tactics and it says models get MtC and HoW, as well as Furious Charge if assaulting from terrain unless a model in a unit has a variant of the bulky rule.

If I attach a Librarian who isn't bulky (so power armour or equivalent) to a unit of Centurions, would the Librarian lose the Chapter Tactics rules, and if he left, regain them?

What I mean by this is that the Librarian is his own unit and would get the rules for Pro side, Con side would be the unit would a mixed unit w/ a bulky model in and wouldn't get CT

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/12 12:55:09


YMDC = nightmare 
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

 Frozocrone wrote:
...
I looked at the chapter tactics and it says models get MtC and HoW, as well as Furious Charge if assaulting from terrain unless a model in a unit has a variant of the bulky rule.

If I attach a Librarian who isn't bulky (so power armour or equivalent) to a unit of Centurions, would the Librarian lose the Chapter Tactics rules, and if he left, regain them?


If I'm understanding correctly, you've got the answer there.
When the Libby joins them, he has joined that unit. At least one member of that unit has the Bulky, Very Bulky, or Extremely Bulky rule, so he would not benefit from MtC, HoW, or Furious Charge.
When he is on his own he would gain the benefits again.


 Frozocrone wrote:

What I mean by this is that the Librarian is his own unit and would get the rules for Pro side, Con side would be the unit would a mixed unit w/ a bulky model in and wouldn't get CT


I don't understand what this is supposed to say, sorry.

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 Frozocrone wrote:
If I attach a Librarian who isn't bulky (so power armour or equivalent) to a unit of Centurions, would the Librarian lose the Chapter Tactics rules, and if he left, regain them?
He wouldn't lose the Chapter Tactics rule, but would lose any benefit from the Shadow Killers half of the rule (but keep Children of Prophecy)
 Frozocrone wrote:
What I mean by this is that the Librarian is his own unit and would get the rules for Pro side, Con side would be the unit would a mixed unit w/ a bulky model in and wouldn't get CT
Once joined to a unit (say, Centurions), the Librarian is not "his own unit" any more, he is part of the unit he joined, losing the benefit of Shadow Killers until he leaves the unit again.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: