Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 20:40:42
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
So I can't seem to find any info on this. SW can take drop pods as fast attack choices. When they are taken as dedicated you can't put more than 1 unit in a pod (or any vehicle). But what happens if you choose them as fast attack? Can you stuff 10 lone wolves into a pod? A stormwolf?
Thanks!
|
Find me on Reddit
https://www.reddit.com/user/Tacocatra
Find me on Instagram
https://www.instagram.com/ariartcorner
Check out my Etsy!
https://www.etsy.com/shop/ariartcorner |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 20:42:13
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Why would the basic rules for transports change just because they're a Fast Attack choice instead of a dedicated transport?
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 20:43:53
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
In other words. No.
Transports can only ever contain one unit (and any number of attached independent characters)
The only exception to this is super heavy transport.s
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 21:36:35
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Ghaz wrote:Why would the basic rules for transports change just because they're a Fast Attack choice instead of a dedicated transport?
Why would you be an donkey-cave about this when I'm new to the game?
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Captyn_Bob wrote:In other words. No.
Transports can only ever contain one unit (and any number of attached independent characters)
The only exception to this is super heavy transport.s
Seems weird but okay. I was hoping I could stuff a bunch of single person units into a drop pod. The rules look like "A
Transport can carry a single Infantry unit and/or any number of Independent
Characters (as long as they are also Infantry), up to a total number of models
equal to the vehicle’s Transport Capacity."
so I was wondering since Lone wolves are characters if they can all hop on one transport.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/04/13 21:43:09
Find me on Reddit
https://www.reddit.com/user/Tacocatra
Find me on Instagram
https://www.instagram.com/ariartcorner
Check out my Etsy!
https://www.etsy.com/shop/ariartcorner |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 21:42:55
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Freya wrote: Ghaz wrote:Why would the basic rules for transports change just because they're a Fast Attack choice instead of a dedicated transport?
Why would you be an donkey-cave about this when I'm new to the game?
If often ask questions like that simply to get the person thinking about why they thought something might be the case - give a man a fish versus teach a man to fish, sort of thing... anyway, I find it best to try and assume the most charitable motivations for someone posting something because of course we don't have facial or gesture cues on an internet forum
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 21:45:45
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Mr. Shine wrote: Freya wrote: Ghaz wrote:Why would the basic rules for transports change just because they're a Fast Attack choice instead of a dedicated transport?
Why would you be an donkey-cave about this when I'm new to the game?
If often ask questions like that simply to get the person thinking about why they thought something might be the case - give a man a fish versus teach a man to fish, sort of thing... anyway, I find it best to try and assume the most charitable motivations for someone posting something because of course we don't have facial or gesture cues on an internet forum 
Right but that's not what I asked about. I asked because I had already looked and couldn't find a good answer. Lone wolves are characters so I didn't understand if they counted for the transport rules in a drop pod. I'm not dumb, I'm just not experienced like some of the people on here. Facial expressions or no, everyone should assume the best (not just me) in their attempt to aid a person.
|
Find me on Reddit
https://www.reddit.com/user/Tacocatra
Find me on Instagram
https://www.instagram.com/ariartcorner
Check out my Etsy!
https://www.etsy.com/shop/ariartcorner |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 21:53:33
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
The first thing to understand is that Characters are not the same as Independent Characters.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 21:54:54
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
rigeld2 wrote:The first thing to understand is that Characters are not the same as Independent Characters.
Oh... confusing. So even though they are independent and characters they aren't independent characters. Marf... well that's frustrating. Thanks for the help!
|
Find me on Reddit
https://www.reddit.com/user/Tacocatra
Find me on Instagram
https://www.instagram.com/ariartcorner
Check out my Etsy!
https://www.etsy.com/shop/ariartcorner |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 21:59:52
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Freya wrote:rigeld2 wrote:The first thing to understand is that Characters are not the same as Independent Characters.
Oh... confusing. So even though they are independent and characters they aren't independent characters. Marf... well that's frustrating. Thanks for the help!
I won't even start to explain that Gun Emplacements and Emplaced Weapons are completely and utterly diff...
Oops. Sorry about that.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 22:30:09
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
Freya wrote:rigeld2 wrote:The first thing to understand is that Characters are not the same as Independent Characters.
Oh... confusing. So even though they are independent and characters they aren't independent characters. Marf... well that's frustrating. Thanks for the help!
It's a fluffy rule of lone wolves, they aren't allowed to join another unit, or be joined by another unit. Going off trying to find your death isn't always easy when the guys you're running with want to stay alive, and finding an honourable death ain't easy if you're running with a bunch of other lone wolves all after the same thing
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 22:34:23
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Freya wrote: Ghaz wrote:Why would the basic rules for transports change just because they're a Fast Attack choice instead of a dedicated transport? Why would you be an donkey-cave about this when I'm new to the game?
First of all, you need to follow the Forum Rules, specifically Rule #1. When you clearly stated "When they are taken as dedicated you can't put more than 1 unit in a pod (or any vehicle)." I had made the assumption you had actually read the rules for transports where it very clearly (and in bold font as well) states that a Transport can only carry "... a single Infantry unit and/or any number of Independent Characters..." and for some reason decided that they only applied dedicated transports (and not any vehicle with a transport capacity). You then go on and used ten Lone Wolves and a Stormwolf (Thunder Wolf?) as examples, neither of which can be in a single transport anyway (the ten Lone Wolves because they'd be ten units and the Thunder Wolf because its not Infantry). So I asked a question trying to find out why you thought that way and you go and insult the person trying to help you. Good job.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/13 22:34:39
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 22:50:57
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Captyn_Bob wrote:In other words. No.
Transports can only ever contain one unit (and any number of attached independent characters)
The only exception to this is super heavy transport.s
Combat Squads are another notable exception.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 22:53:20
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
Ghaz wrote:You then go on and used ten Lone Wolves and a Stormwolf (Thunder Wolf?) as examples, neither of which can be in a single transport anyway (the ten Lone Wolves because they'd be ten units and the Thunder Wolf because its not Infantry). So I asked a question trying to find out why you thought that way and you go and insult the person trying to help you. Good job.
They didn't mention anything about Thunderwolves, they were asking if you could fit ten lone wolves in a drop pod, and then can you fit ten lone wolves in a stormwolf
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 23:01:29
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
statu wrote: Ghaz wrote:You then go on and used ten Lone Wolves and a Stormwolf (Thunder Wolf?) as examples, neither of which can be in a single transport anyway (the ten Lone Wolves because they'd be ten units and the Thunder Wolf because its not Infantry). So I asked a question trying to find out why you thought that way and you go and insult the person trying to help you. Good job.
They didn't mention anything about Thunderwolves, they were asking if you could fit ten lone wolves in a drop pod, and then can you fit ten lone wolves in a stormwolf
I'm unfamiliar with the Stormwolf and assumed he was asking about a Thunder Wolf, i.e. "Can you stuff a Stormwolf (Thunder Wolf) into a pod?"
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 23:18:35
Subject: Re:drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Sucks to assume.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 23:30:35
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
I normally try not to, but at the time its the only thing that made sense to me.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/14 01:08:24
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Using Inks and Washes
St. George, Utah
|
Freya wrote:rigeld2 wrote:The first thing to understand is that Characters are not the same as Independent Characters.
Oh... confusing. So even though they are independent and characters they aren't independent characters. Marf... well that's frustrating. Thanks for the help!
Yeah I ran into this issue once upon a time, as well.
1) A unit is simply what's listed in the book that you buy from. So a guy who's bought as a single model is still a unit.
2) A unit may or may not be a character, which is denoted on their page. Characters have a bunch of rules defining what that means for their model.
3) "Independant Character" is a special rule, usually just for HQ units, that among other things allows them to join another unit.
Not all individual models are characters. Not all characters are independant characters.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/14 02:35:09
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
|
As said above, the option for Drop Pods as a FA choice does not enable multiple units to be transported - it is still a transport. However, it does enable you to take additional drop pods. By increasing the number of pods, you increase how many come in first turn. Additionally, now that all units are scoring, you can drop that pod close to a far-off objective to control it and put a storm bolter down to help with distraction. That is really the only advantage to taking them as FA.
|
penguineater91
Space Wolves (Weirwolves) - 1500
Orks - 1000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/14 03:07:04
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Ghaz wrote: Freya wrote: Ghaz wrote:Why would the basic rules for transports change just because they're a Fast Attack choice instead of a dedicated transport?
Why would you be an donkey-cave about this when I'm new to the game?
First of all, you need to follow the Forum Rules, specifically Rule #1.
When you clearly stated "When they are taken as dedicated you can't put more than 1 unit in a pod (or any vehicle)." I had made the assumption you had actually read the rules for transports where it very clearly (and in bold font as well) states that a Transport can only carry "... a single Infantry unit and/or any number of Independent Characters..." and for some reason decided that they only applied dedicated transports (and not any vehicle with a transport capacity). You then go on and used ten Lone Wolves and a Stormwolf (Thunder Wolf?) as examples, neither of which can be in a single transport anyway (the ten Lone Wolves because they'd be ten units and the Thunder Wolf because its not Infantry). So I asked a question trying to find out why you thought that way and you go and insult the person trying to help you. Good job.
Right, which is why you should have followed rule number 1 from the get go instead of being rude to me and assuming I didn't read the book. I know what the book says... I'm not some dumb neckbeard. I just wanted to know if I could board multiple lone wolves into a drop pod. All you would have had to say was "nope because, while they are characters, they aren't independent characters." and that would have been the end of it. Instead you decided to be rude to me.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/14 03:11:28
Find me on Reddit
https://www.reddit.com/user/Tacocatra
Find me on Instagram
https://www.instagram.com/ariartcorner
Check out my Etsy!
https://www.etsy.com/shop/ariartcorner |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/14 03:16:05
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
penguineater91 wrote:As said above, the option for Drop Pods as a FA choice does not enable multiple units to be transported - it is still a transport. However, it does enable you to take additional drop pods. By increasing the number of pods, you increase how many come in first turn. Additionally, now that all units are scoring, you can drop that pod close to a far-off objective to control it and put a storm bolter down to help with distraction. That is really the only advantage to taking them as FA.
So since its a transport, can any unit start in it? The deidcated rule is the only rule that says only the unit that bought it can start in it, all others must start on the board and T1 can get inside, right?
|
~1.5k
Successful Trades: Ashrog (1), Iron35 (1), Rathryan (3), Leth (1), Eshm (1), Zeke48 (1), Gorkamorka12345 (1),
Melevolence (2), Ascalam (1), Swanny318, (1) ScootyPuffJunior, (1) LValx (1), Jim Solo (1), xSoulgrinderx (1), Reese (1), Pretre (1) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/14 03:27:43
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Freya wrote: Ghaz wrote: Freya wrote: Ghaz wrote:Why would the basic rules for transports change just because they're a Fast Attack choice instead of a dedicated transport?
Why would you be an donkey-cave about this when I'm new to the game?
First of all, you need to follow the Forum Rules, specifically Rule #1.
When you clearly stated "When they are taken as dedicated you can't put more than 1 unit in a pod (or any vehicle)." I had made the assumption you had actually read the rules for transports where it very clearly (and in bold font as well) states that a Transport can only carry "... a single Infantry unit and/or any number of Independent Characters..." and for some reason decided that they only applied dedicated transports (and not any vehicle with a transport capacity). You then go on and used ten Lone Wolves and a Stormwolf (Thunder Wolf?) as examples, neither of which can be in a single transport anyway (the ten Lone Wolves because they'd be ten units and the Thunder Wolf because its not Infantry). So I asked a question trying to find out why you thought that way and you go and insult the person trying to help you. Good job.
Right, which is why you should have followed rule number 1 from the get go instead of being rude to me and assuming I didn't read the book. I know what the book says... I'm not some dumb neckbeard. I just wanted to know if I could board multiple lone wolves into a drop pod. All you would have had to say was "nope because, while they are characters, they aren't independent characters." and that would have been the end of it. Instead you decided to be rude to me.
And yet again, you think your faultless. I asked a question to clarify matters an you threw a hissy fit. You're on ignore until you can grow up.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/14 03:37:03
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Bournemouth
|
jreilly89 wrote: penguineater91 wrote:As said above, the option for Drop Pods as a FA choice does not enable multiple units to be transported - it is still a transport. However, it does enable you to take additional drop pods. By increasing the number of pods, you increase how many come in first turn. Additionally, now that all units are scoring, you can drop that pod close to a far-off objective to control it and put a storm bolter down to help with distraction. That is really the only advantage to taking them as FA.
So since its a transport, can any unit start in it? The deidcated rule is the only rule that says only the unit that bought it can start in it, all others must start on the board and T1 can get inside, right?
Yea, so you can stick centurions in there  . Automatically Appended Next Post: Or any battle brother for that matter
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/14 03:37:24
WH40K
Iron Wardens 11k (Iron Hands Clan Raukaan with Blood Angels Allies)
Guard PDF 1.5k
Hive Fleet Celesta 3.5k
Irontoof Guttasnarks's Warghband 0k in development |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/14 03:39:41
Subject: drop pods and multiple units
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
jreilly89 wrote:So since its a transport, can any unit start in it? The deidcated rule is the only rule that says only the unit that bought it can start in it, all others must start on the board and T1 can get inside, right?
Any unit, as long as it fits the rules for transport capacity (even a unit from a different detachment, if Battle Brothers), can start inside a transport (page 132, Deployment, third paragraph). This includes starting in a transport that is in reserves (page 135, Combined Reserve Units).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/14 03:40:50
|
|
 |
 |
|