Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/20 08:17:38
Subject: Furioso Frag Cannon and Wall of Death/ No Escape
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
|
The Frag Cannon on a Furioso Dreadnought is an assault 2 template weapon. How does this work with regards to Wall of Death and No Escape? Do I get 2d3 hits on a charging unit and 2d6 on a unit embarked on an open topped transport, per the assault 2 side of the weapon rules, or just a flat d3 and d6, per it being a template weapon?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/20 08:25:12
Subject: Furioso Frag Cannon and Wall of Death/ No Escape
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Wall of Death and No Escape state D3 and D6 respectively, with no mention of it being per shot the weapon fires.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/20 08:27:46
Subject: Re:Furioso Frag Cannon and Wall of Death/ No Escape
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
|
Yeah that's what I was thinking, just wanted to check  Thanks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/20 13:37:41
Subject: Furioso Frag Cannon and Wall of Death/ No Escape
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
One slight counter-suggestion:
I completely agree on Wall of Death. The rule gives you D3 automatic hits instead of firing overwatch, and does not reference the weapon's rate of fire at all.
No Escape, however, does: "Models inside an open top transport take 1d6 hits for each template hit taken by the transport" - if you fire two templates you will hit the transport twice.
So it's 2D6 hits for No Escape and D3 hits for Wall of Death as I see it.
|
Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/20 20:56:48
Subject: Furioso Frag Cannon and Wall of Death/ No Escape
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
locarno24 wrote:One slight counter-suggestion:
I completely agree on Wall of Death. The rule gives you D3 automatic hits instead of firing overwatch, and does not reference the weapon's rate of fire at all.
No Escape, however, does: "Models inside an open top transport take 1d6 hits for each template hit taken by the transport" - if you fire two templates you will hit the transport twice.
So it's 2D6 hits for No Escape and D3 hits for Wall of Death as I see it.
Hmmm.
Under 'Template Weapons' in the Special Rules section, 'No Escape' states:
"If a Template weapon hits a building's Fire Point or an Open-topped vehicle and there is a unit embarked inside that building or vehicle, then in addition to any other effects that unit suffers D6 hits, resolved at the Strength and AP of the weapon. These his are Randomly Allocated."
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/20 20:56:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/21 04:08:59
Subject: Furioso Frag Cannon and Wall of Death/ No Escape
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
I would say that "when a template weapon hits..." means that when you score a hit with a template weapon, you deal d6 wounds. Whereas for wall of death it simply says "it automatically inflicts d3 wounds", nothing about hits or shots.
So I'd say for every hit you deal d6 for no escape, while wall of death simply inflicts d3 regardless of shots. Simply because no escape specifically points out "when the weapon hits", and you can have multiple hits.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/21 05:10:15
Subject: Furioso Frag Cannon and Wall of Death/ No Escape
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
It actually says "if" a template weapon hits, which is a minor difference. I think it's a leap as far as RAW is concerned to consider it triggering per shot that hits, but if it's wide differently in multiple parts of the rulebook then it's not necessarily or clearly the case.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/21 05:11:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/21 06:46:48
Subject: Furioso Frag Cannon and Wall of Death/ No Escape
|
 |
Using Inks and Washes
St. George, Utah
|
The template weapon hits, twice. I think I'm with bobbito and lucarno.
As for wall of death, I think RAW I agree with what's been stated but HIWPI is that you'd do 2d3. I can't think of a single other template weapon with multiple shots in the entire game, so them not having the foresight to reword the rule to work on a per-shot basis seems like typical GW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/21 07:08:59
Subject: Furioso Frag Cannon and Wall of Death/ No Escape
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
"If it hits..." means that 1 or 1000 hits, you have satisfied the condition completely
1 D6.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/21 09:42:41
Subject: Furioso Frag Cannon and Wall of Death/ No Escape
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:"If it hits..." means that 1 or 1000 hits, you have satisfied the condition completely
1 D6.
This I think is the correct answer per RAW.
Again, 'No Escape' (which after searching is the only part of the rulebook which describes this situation, so I've no idea where locarno24 got their quote from) states:
"If a Template weapon hits a building’s Fire Point or an Open-topped vehicle and there is a unit embarked inside that building or vehicle, then in addition to any other effects that unit suffers D6 hits, resolved at the Strength and AP of the weapon. These hits are Randomly Allocated."
Nothing about D6 hits suffered per shot, merely if the weapon hits the unit suffers a flat D6 hits.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/21 10:04:31
Subject: Furioso Frag Cannon and Wall of Death/ No Escape
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Mr. Shine wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:"If it hits..." means that 1 or 1000 hits, you have satisfied the condition completely
1 D6.
This I think is the correct answer per RAW.
Again, 'No Escape' (which after searching is the only part of the rulebook which describes this situation, so I've no idea where locarno24 got their quote from) states:
"If a Template weapon hits a building’s Fire Point or an Open-topped vehicle and there is a unit embarked inside that building or vehicle, then in addition to any other effects that unit suffers D6 hits, resolved at the Strength and AP of the weapon. These hits are Randomly Allocated."
Nothing about D6 hits suffered per shot, merely if the weapon hits the unit suffers a flat D6 hits.
I'm also inclined to say the RaW is read like this. If the weapon Hits, you get result "X". If the weapon Hits 3 times, the rule is still followed: the weapon has hit, therefore you get result "X".
If you fire 2 Hand flamers though, the statement "If a Template weapon hits" is then active twice.
Most rules would say "for each Hit caused by a Template weapon, "X" happens". Then i'd agree with multiple Hits = multiple D6
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/21 13:06:40
Subject: Furioso Frag Cannon and Wall of Death/ No Escape
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Its similar to the old Waaagh banner, where you got + 1 WS if the unit contained one - if you had 2, you still only got +1 WS as you ad satisfied the condition.
If you fire two hand flamers, whether one or 2 models doing so, then you indeed have the result of 2D6 hits.
|
|
 |
 |
|