| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/20 18:55:51
Subject: Utilization of the D-Thirster
|
 |
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant
|
I'm looking to find the rules reference & page number for multiple units charging the same unit. Reasons being that I have a friend I was discussing ways to use the D-Thirster against enemy units like Knights.
One way I thought of, was to Charge the Knight with a unit of 5 Hounds, then subsequently charging with the D-Thirster. Thoughts being that since the hounds were in B2B with the Knight wounds must be allocated to them and the D-Thirster would get a free chop on the Knight at I1 same time as the Stomps. But my friend states that it would be impossible because after charging with the D-Thirster, he would have to pile in and around and would never make it into B2B to begin with so he cannot attack. However I was under the Impression that if I had charged into the Knight whether or not I make it into B2B was pointless if he was within 2" of the Hounds who were in combat so long as I was to Pile In at my Initiative.
Thoughts?
|
Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.
12,000
14,000
11,000
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/20 19:08:12
Subject: Utilization of the D-Thirster
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
|
Wouldn't you fail your charge if you can't get at least one mode in a unit in B2B with the enemy? Otherwise your pile in move would probably get you in.
Pretty sure the 2" rule is for that unit and doesn't apply to other units.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/20 19:20:24
Subject: Utilization of the D-Thirster
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
I suppose you could try to use a maulerfiend or two to reduce it's attacks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/20 20:12:28
Subject: Utilization of the D-Thirster
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
While you are correct that "models" can attack if they are within 2" of friendly models in BtB even if not part of the same unit, at least 1 model from your unit must be in BtB to be considered in the combat in the first place.
So using your example, the 5 hounds charge, then the Thirtster charges. The thirster HAS to reach BtB to be eligible for a pile-in. Meaning the Knight can just allocate his attacks to the Thirster and then stomp the hounds
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/20 20:22:37
Subject: Utilization of the D-Thirster
|
 |
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant
|
Ok thanks for clearing that up Galef
|
Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.
12,000
14,000
11,000
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|