Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/22 00:23:19
Subject: Look out sir and D weapons.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
wounds from D hits are not in the wound pool and generate multiple wounds on a single model that cant be carried over.
So can you Los D hits.
I would play it that you Los the each wound and not all the wounds on one roll.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/22 00:25:53
Subject: Re:Look out sir and D weapons.
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Yes, you can LoS D weapon hits like any other hit. Each hit can, at most, kill one model. Be it the original model hit or a model the LoS got pawned off on.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/22 07:14:16
Subject: Look out sir and D weapons.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Sunhero wrote:wounds from D hits are not in the wound pool and generate multiple wounds on a single model that cant be carried over.
So can you Los D hits.
I would play it that you Los the each wound and not all the wounds on one roll.
The Wound is most definitely in the pool, however if it then turnsinto multiple wounds, those are not.
You can LOS the initial "hit" i.e. one LOS to pass off D3 wounds (2 - 5 result)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/22 08:28:17
Subject: Look out sir and D weapons.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
But you roll once for the hit right?
Is it...
A) d template hits a unit of 4 and all get hit.. the shooting unit rolls a 6 ONCE for penetrating (equivalent of a toughness/str roll) and all 4 models are removed
Or is it..
B) d template hits a unit of 4 and all get hit.. the shooting unit rolls 4D6 for penetrating (equivalent of a toughness/str roll) for each enemy model and 1,2,3,and 6 are rolled... 3 nearest models are all wounded but one is a character... so the defending player rols a successful lookoutsir and the 4th unit member takes the wound the character survives
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/22 08:51:35
Subject: Look out sir and D weapons.
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
Its B.
A D Scythe hits a unit of 5 space marines and a librarian - all models are under the template (stupid marine player!)
All models are hit automatically as they are touched by the template.
The attacking player picks up 6 dice and rolls them against the destroyer table...
1, 2, 2, 5, 5, 6
the 1 is discarded as nothing. You now have 2 wound pools - 4 in the 2-5 bracket and 1 in the 6 bracket.
The elder player wants to kill the librarian - he is the third closest. He elects to use the 2-5 wound pool first.
The 2 closest marines are slain thanks to Ap2 and no cover.
The librarian now makes 2 look out sir rolls - 1, 5
With the fail (1), he now takes D3 wounds while the marine whom is closest bits the dust from the other. Unluckily he rolls a 1 on the D3 and the librarian survives.
The 6 wound pool is now applied. The librarian is closest so is able to again make a LOS roll - but he manages a 1 again!
This triggers the 6+D6 wounds with no saves and he is now a bloody red smear.
Had he past the LOS roll his last remaining marine companion would be the tomato paste stain instead. Automatically Appended Next Post: I will point out that STOMP looks like the same thing but its not.
It specifically says to roll once per blast and apply the result to everything under it rather than on a model by model basis.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/22 08:53:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/22 10:18:30
Subject: Re:Look out sir and D weapons.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
you do not look out sir a "hit" you los wounds.
what is the rules justification for los multiple wounds on one roll.
this is not like an instant death wound that causes you to loose multiple wounds.
It is a hit that causes multiple wounds.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/22 10:38:51
Subject: Look out sir and D weapons.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The rules justification was given already
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/22 11:26:38
Subject: Re:Look out sir and D weapons.
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
Sunhero wrote:you do not look out sir a "hit" you los wounds.
what is the rules justification for los multiple wounds on one roll.
this is not like an instant death wound that causes you to loose multiple wounds.
It is a hit that causes multiple wounds.
Incorrect - read the rules for destroyer. The results from 2 to 6 all say they wound automatically. This is what you are LOS rolling for. It's only when it comes time to apply the wounds that it multiplies into d3 or 6+ d6. It's the differing multiple wounds that the results give that generate multiple wound pools
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/22 12:03:04
Subject: Look out sir and D weapons.
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Well, you don't take saves against hits either (D weapon 'wording' there), I'm still not sure of what they meant for D weapons including if your suppose to be able to LOS at all, LOS is triggered when wounds are allocated. In the D weapon system your still allocating hits to models.
I think there was some discussion on some point if a automatic hit was different from a hit, and automatic wound in the same way.
I'll just put it down to a boat of bad wording.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/22 12:04:25
It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.
Tactical objectives are fantastic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/22 13:09:15
Subject: Re:Look out sir and D weapons.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
p.100 "When a Wound is allocated to one of your non-vehicle characters"...
"On a roll of 4+, the Look Out, Sir attempt is successful. Determine which model in the unit is closest to the character, and allocate the Wound to that model instead."
for the 3rd time you do not look out sir a "hit" you look out sir wounds.
Destroyer Weapons p.163
"If the attack hits, roll on the table above instead of rolling To Wound"...
"The model suffers a hit that wounds automatically and causes it to lose D3 Wounds instead of 1."
so it takes a hit that causes multiple wounds not a wound that causes multiple wounds like an ID wound.
where is the justification for a single roll transferring multiple wounds.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/22 13:13:51
Subject: Re:Look out sir and D weapons.
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Sunhero wrote:
"The model suffers a hit that wounds automatically and causes it to lose D3 Wounds instead of 1."
Its one wound that causes it to lose D3 wounds so you Look out Sir the wound that was caused automatically, this then causes D3 wounds instead of 1.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/22 13:43:10
Subject: Look out sir and D weapons.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Notice the "wounds automatically" part? Thats the bit that gets allocated. The automatic wound. Same as vehciles getting a single penetrating hit that takes away D3 hull points.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/24 17:10:36
Subject: Look out sir and D weapons.
|
 |
Lurking Gaunt
|
Massaen wrote:Its B.
A D Scythe hits a unit of 5 space marines and a librarian - all models are under the template (stupid marine player!)
All models are hit automatically as they are touched by the template.
The attacking player picks up 6 dice and rolls them against the destroyer table...
1, 2, 2, 5, 5, 6
the 1 is discarded as nothing. You now have 2 wound pools - 4 in the 2-5 bracket and 1 in the 6 bracket.
Your example worked perfectly but had one flaw in it. D-Scythes don't wound on a 2 in the new rules
|
|
 |
 |
|