Switch Theme:

Blast scattering into Assault, What Happens?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Banelord Titan Princeps of Khorne






So, we had a game of Khorne Daemonkin vs Orks the other day, and had an odd situation crop up.

- My opponent (Orks) had charged his Dreadnought into my Chaos Lord on Juggernaut with Fleshhounds on his turn. The dread swung, killed some hounds, the Lord swung back with his Powerfist and reduced the Dreadnought to (1) hull point remaining.

- On my turn, the Chaos Lord obviously was still locked in assault with the Ork Dreadnought. On the other side of the table, my Soul Grinder fired his Phlegm Bombardment at a unit of Ork Boyz near the combat. The blast scattered a long way and landed on the Chaos Lord and Ork Dreadnought.

- We surmised that both the Lord and the Dread were hit, and after rolling for damage, the Phlegm caused a penetrating hit and removed the last hull point from the Dreadnought. At this point, we were at a loss for what to do.

Would the Chaos Lord and Fleshhounds be eligible to consolidate? Were they free to assault another target in the Assault Phase?

We rolled a D6 and the Lord stayed put, probably shaken from the Phlegm exploding in his face, but we were very curious if there was a correct way to play it, and a cursory rulebook search yielded little help. Any input Dakka?

Veriamp wrote:I have emerged from my lurking to say one thing. When Mat taught the Necrons to feel, he taught me to love.

Whitedragon Paints! http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/613745.page 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






I think nobody consolidates after combat with a walker because it's a vehicle. That's probably an oversight in the rules, walkers do consolidate themselves, but that's how it reads.

If it were not a walker, I think he still would not consolidate because that only happens at the end of the assault phase but I don't have the rules in front of me here.

Battlescribe Catalog Editor - Please report bugs here http://battlescribedata.appspot.com/#/repo/wh40k 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






You dont consolidate off vehicles including walkers or even chariots

ITs realllllly dumb.

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





You wouldn't consolidate here because it's not the end of the assault phase. However, you're not locked in combat, and you didn't shoot at anyone, so it would seem you are allowed to declare a charge!

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Note that if the Dreadnought had been accidentally destroyed in the Ork shooting phase, then other Ork units would not have been able to shoot at the Lord & Hounds as Locked in Combat lasts until the end of the phase (top right, page 47).
   
Made in us
Banelord Titan Princeps of Khorne






Yarium wrote:You wouldn't consolidate here because it's not the end of the assault phase. However, you're not locked in combat, and you didn't shoot at anyone, so it would seem you are allowed to declare a charge!


Quanar wrote:Note that if the Dreadnought had been accidentally destroyed in the Ork shooting phase, then other Ork units would not have been able to shoot at the Lord & Hounds as Locked in Combat lasts until the end of the phase (top right, page 47).


Thanks guys, it does indeed seem that I should have been able to launch an assault, but on the other hand, I'm sure that situation doesn't come up very often.

Veriamp wrote:I have emerged from my lurking to say one thing. When Mat taught the Necrons to feel, he taught me to love.

Whitedragon Paints! http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/613745.page 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan




Homestead, FL

had a similar situation arise where my Boyz got into a bit of a pickle against a very angry space marine player. During my shooting phase my KMK's scattered and destroyed his termies assaulting my boyz...rather comical and i wont lie...I was kinda hoping that would happen. Worst case scenario? i lose the 5 boyz left, best case scenario he loses 5 termies ;-).

I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Boulder, Colorado

I think that for the most part you are right, except they don't get to consolidate, because they are vehicles, and because thats at the end of the assault phase.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: