Switch Theme:

Stormraven and disembarking  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Furious Raptor




Gothenburg, Sweden

Must the Stormraven go into hovermode to disembark passengers without "Skies of Fury" or can the passengers disembark while flying but before the Stormraven actually moved?

Peace is a lie, there is only passion...and bacon! 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Page 84, under Zoom, third paragraph, last sentence:
{...} Finally, unless otherwise stated, models cannot embark upon, or voluntarily disembark from, a Zooming Flyer.
Also, for reference, page 85 under Hover, second paragraph:
A Flyer with the Hover type must declare whether it is going to Zoom or Hover before it moves, and before any embarked models disembark, each Movement Phase.
So, if the 'Raven is Zooming, models cannot disembark from it until it has declared a Hover move. However you could declare a Hover, disembark the unit and then move the 'Raven in Hover (p81, Disembarking).

Looking at it (I've never really bothered before), Skies just seems to give a way of disembarking after moving more than 6" (say, a 12" Hover move), and doesn't explicitly say it overrides the "cannot disembark from a Zooming Flyer" part quoted above. But I've never seen it played that way, so I'm not sure on that I'll be honest.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/26 20:54:37


 
   
Made in us
Oozing Plague Marine Terminator





If you disembark in hover, you count as an assault vehicle. If you hop out the back while zooming, it's the Skies of fury, counts as deepstrike restrictions.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






@Luusormi, No. Models can't get out of a zooming flyer with out skies of fury because of the zooming flyer rules.

@Quanar & Nightlord1987, I believe the initial clause of skies of fury, the flyer having moved more then 6 inches, constitutes 'stating otherwise' because this clause does not require the flyer to be in any particular mode, only to have moved more then 6 inches. This means models may skies of fury their way out in either model if the flyer had moved more then 6 inches.
   
Made in se
Furious Raptor




Gothenburg, Sweden

Thanks guys!

Peace is a lie, there is only passion...and bacon! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: