Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/28 04:12:20
Subject: Split fire and assault Q for gargantuan creatures
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Specifically, I wonder if a Wraithknight as per gargantuan creature, can shoot one thing, and then assault an enemy already in assault. Essentially, helping a friendly unit.
Yes?
Split fire rule showed me naught. Page citations please.
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/28 05:10:35
Subject: Split fire and assault Q for gargantuan creatures
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
You can only assault what you shot at. Gargantuans don't change this
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/28 05:38:43
Subject: Split fire and assault Q for gargantuan creatures
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
Also worth mentioning, Gargantuan Creatures do not have the Split Fire special rule. That is a rule that allows models to shoot at separate targets than the rest of their unit. Gargantuans have an unnamed permission that allows them to shoot at multiple units in the same shooting phase.
But as CrownAxe said, Gargantuan Creatures do not have permission to charge a unit they did not shoot at in the previous shooting phase (providing they shot at all). We cannot provide a page citation other than pages 67-71 which detail how monstrous and gargantuan creatures behave, to show the rule you're looking for cannot be found.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 05:23:39
Subject: Re:Split fire and assault Q for gargantuan creatures
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Thank you for confirming that I did not miss what was not there, Bojazz.
Follow up:
The WK is a Jump Garg creature. So does being a jumper gain him a rerolled charge
(or is it jumping with its 12" move, as a Grag creature)?
I do not see anything else in the jumper category that would not be already there as a Garg.
What say you?
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 05:40:27
Subject: Re:Split fire and assault Q for gargantuan creatures
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Brothererekose wrote:Thank you for confirming that I did not miss what was not there, Bojazz.
Follow up:
The WK is a Jump Garg creature. So does being a jumper gain him a rerolled charge
(or is it jumping with its 12" move, as a Grag creature)?
I do not see anything else in the jumper category that would not be already there as a Garg.
What say you?
Jump lets gargantuan ignore terrain when moving and can elect to use the jump in the assault phase to reroll the charge distance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 05:56:50
Subject: Re:Split fire and assault Q for gargantuan creatures
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
CrownAxe wrote: Brothererekose wrote:Thank you for confirming that I did not miss what was not there, Bojazz.
Follow up:
The WK is a Jump Garg creature. So does being a jumper gain him a rerolled charge
(or is it jumping with its 12" move, as a Grag creature)?
I do not see anything else in the jumper category that would not be already there as a Garg.
What say you?
Jump lets gargantuan ignore terrain when moving and can elect to use the jump in the assault phase to reroll the charge distance.
Ignoring terrain is already a Monstrous Critter item the Gargs are granted, but, yeah, the reroll charge is the key item to be cited.
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 05:59:46
Subject: Re:Split fire and assault Q for gargantuan creatures
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Brothererekose wrote: CrownAxe wrote: Brothererekose wrote:Thank you for confirming that I did not miss what was not there, Bojazz. Follow up: The WK is a Jump Garg creature. So does being a jumper gain him a rerolled charge (or is it jumping with its 12" move, as a Grag creature)? I do not see anything else in the jumper category that would not be already there as a Garg. What say you?
Jump lets gargantuan ignore terrain when moving and can elect to use the jump in the assault phase to reroll the charge distance. Ignoring terrain is already a Monstrous Critter item the Gargs are granted, but, yeah, the reroll charge is the key item to be cited. 
No they don't ignore terrain. They have Move Through Cover which when moving through terrain you roll 3d6 and pick the highest so the most a Gargantuans can move is 6" when going through terrain.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/29 06:01:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 06:16:40
Subject: Re:Split fire and assault Q for gargantuan creatures
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
CrownAxe wrote:
No they don't ignore terrain. They have Move Through Cover which when moving through terrain you roll 3d6 and pick the highest so the most a Gargantuans can move is 6" when going through terrain.
Right. MtCover ... almost but not quite the same thing. Edition hangover, I think.
Nothing else ?
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 06:23:34
Subject: Re:Split fire and assault Q for gargantuan creatures
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Brothererekose wrote: CrownAxe wrote:
No they don't ignore terrain. They have Move Through Cover which when moving through terrain you roll 3d6 and pick the highest so the most a Gargantuans can move is 6" when going through terrain.
Right. MtCover ... almost but not quite the same thing. Edition hangover, I think.
Nothing else ?
they auto pass dangerous terrain checks.
that's it
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 07:53:30
Subject: Split fire and assault Q for gargantuan creatures
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Didnt GW errata MtC for garg as well as SH walkers? 3D6, double it for SH (a 4th edition FAQ revival there  )
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 08:31:29
Subject: Split fire and assault Q for gargantuan creatures
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Didnt GW errata MtC for garg as well as SH walkers? 3D6, double it for SH (a 4th edition FAQ revival there  )
No they only did SH walkers
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 08:42:22
Subject: Split fire and assault Q for gargantuan creatures
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Oh GW...
|
|
 |
 |
|