Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 07:43:01
Subject: Infiltrating or Outflanking a Green Tide?
|
 |
Disguised Speculo
|
Just wondering if there is anything stopping me from doing this using warlord traits?
Strategic 3 - Master of Ambush: "Your Warlord and three non-vehicle units of your choice have the Infiltrate
special rule."
WAAAGH Ghazghull 4 - A Kunnin' Plan: "Your Warlord, and any unit with the Orks faction he joins, gain the outflank rule"
Green Tide: Consists of 10 units of boyz and one warboss. "All of the units of boyz and the warboss form a single unit known as the green tide"
If so, would the warlord need to be in their formation (ie, the warboss in the green tide which can be your warlord), or simply part of a Battle Brothers detachment?
Cheers for any help, all these supplements and stuff are very confusing
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 07:53:01
Subject: Infiltrating or Outflanking a Green Tide?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
No where does it say they need to be in the formation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 18:07:43
Subject: Infiltrating or Outflanking a Green Tide?
|
 |
Disguised Speculo
|
Just asking. Last time I played you had a codex and that was it. gaks confusing now, its easier to ask on ymdc than pour thru every document looking for that one line of text that invalidates it
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 21:15:19
Subject: Infiltrating or Outflanking a Green Tide?
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
Kapuskasing, ON
|
Looks fine from what I read. Warlord trait only works with the same faction and battle bros allies. Orks only battle bros allies is more Orks but aside from that you can even keep your Green Tide Warlord as the Warboss and keep Stampede to effect the formation, take that Strategic Trait and that trait will still be useable on other Ork units not in the formation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 23:02:12
Subject: Infiltrating or Outflanking a Green Tide?
|
 |
Disguised Speculo
|
Cheers man.
If I attach another character to the tide he does not recieve infiltration unless I used one of the "d3 units" choices from the strategic trait on them?
If I infiltrate a tide, with a tail of boyz leading to my DZ, can a character in my DZ be joined to the unit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 23:10:28
Subject: Infiltrating or Outflanking a Green Tide?
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
You would need to use one of the D3 yes.
And he cant deploy joined to it, so T1 if they go first, he can get sniped off. He can however join in your move phase.
Just move the tide first, it cant move for the rest of the phase someone joins.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 23:40:00
Subject: Infiltrating or Outflanking a Green Tide?
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
Kapuskasing, ON
|
Yeah it would need to use up one of the d3 choices since it initially has to be deployed seperately. The Green Tide's deployment restrictions seperates it. Afterwards the IC (it would have to be an IC since a Character has to be deployed with a unit already and any chars in the Green Tide would already have it) can join the Green Tide unit but by then the traits have already been applied since it's based on deployment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/30 02:06:59
Subject: Infiltrating or Outflanking a Green Tide?
|
 |
Oozing Plague Marine Terminator
|
Just be careful, if there are any buildings or terrain pieces on the table edge, walking into difficult terrain would require a test. You might not fit every one in where you want to.... happens with my kommandos pretty often.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/30 02:20:46
Subject: Infiltrating or Outflanking a Green Tide?
|
 |
Disguised Speculo
|
Sweet as. Wouldn't be too hard to hide a biker mek etc and then zoom him into a forward deploying mob.
Man I can't wait to see someones face when I deploy 100 Orks so close to their front lines...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/30 02:49:22
Subject: Infiltrating or Outflanking a Green Tide?
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
Kapuskasing, ON
|
Mork (or is it Gork?) will be proud of your kunnin but brutal taktiks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/30 03:48:31
Subject: Infiltrating or Outflanking a Green Tide?
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
Near CREEEEEEEEEED levels of infiltration. True tactical genius on the part of the orks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/30 08:32:18
Subject: Infiltrating or Outflanking a Green Tide?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Remember an IC can leave a unit and join another, so you can have the biker mek joined to a unit of say warbikers, to reduce his sniping chances, and zoom and catch up wtith the sneaky orks in front.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/30 16:53:53
Subject: Infiltrating or Outflanking a Green Tide?
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
Kapuskasing, ON
|
kingbobbito wrote:Near CREEEEEEEEEED levels of infiltration. True tactical genius on the part of the orks.
Good comparison. The minimum model count of a Green Tide is 102 or 103 I think. That is all 10 boyz squads at min. The whole blob can go over 300 models. Also....imagine a big enough point game that can fit 2 or more Green Tides and then having the ability to infiltrate them both... There's also a formation that has Boss Zag and 90 Stormboyz deepstrking as one unit with only d6 scatter but it's still very risky I imagine.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/04/30 16:56:11
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/30 20:49:12
Subject: Infiltrating or Outflanking a Green Tide?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
how do you guarantee infiltrated warlord trait?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/30 22:05:05
Subject: Infiltrating or Outflanking a Green Tide?
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
Kapuskasing, ON
|
There is no guarantee. Thankfully the Green Tide is the Green Tide. One doesn't need that Ambush trait as an excuse to build the Green Tide. It's good to know though that if you do roll it that the whole mob can infiltrate.
But your question does bring up a good point. How to get that ambush trait more reliably..
Well Da Finkin Kap is a Gork and Mork item, not a Orkimedes item so the Warboss in the Green Tide can't take it. If you use a Warboss unbound or from another formation or detachment then it can take Da Finkin Kap and roll for two traits on the strategy traits, greatly improving the chance for the Ambush trait. However you would have to give up the Stampede from the Green Tide. If somehow the Green Horde can squeeze in then you can still get Stampede.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/01 03:04:45
Subject: Infiltrating or Outflanking a Green Tide?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
The rules say IC can begin the game -already- joined to a unit (can even be done while they're in reserves), and they also say that an IC that is in a unit is considered part of it for all rule benefits. With that being so, I don't see any reason why an IC joined to a Green Tide would take up an extra of the d3 Infiltrate charges.
No tournament I've ever seen Green Tide at has ever ruled that they use up extra uses of the warlord trait, either.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/01 05:09:24
Subject: Infiltrating or Outflanking a Green Tide?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Unahim wrote:The rules say IC can begin the game -already- joined to a unit (can even be done while they're in reserves), and they also say that an IC that is in a unit is considered part of it for all rule benefits. With that being so, I don't see any reason why an IC joined to a Green Tide would take up an extra of the d3 Infiltrate charges.
No tournament I've ever seen Green Tide at has ever ruled that they use up extra uses of the warlord trait, either.
Check out the current Rulebook FAQ ( http://www.games-workshop.com/resources/PDF/Errata/Warhammer_40000/Warhammer_40000_Rules_EN.pdf) disallows Independent Characters without Infiltrate joining a unit with Infiltrate during deployment. Tournaments can rule however they like, but RAW is that you would need to use up one of the "three units" choices on an IC you wanted to join the Tide.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/01 11:20:09
Subject: Infiltrating or Outflanking a Green Tide?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Quanar wrote:Unahim wrote:The rules say IC can begin the game -already- joined to a unit (can even be done while they're in reserves), and they also say that an IC that is in a unit is considered part of it for all rule benefits. With that being so, I don't see any reason why an IC joined to a Green Tide would take up an extra of the d3 Infiltrate charges.
No tournament I've ever seen Green Tide at has ever ruled that they use up extra uses of the warlord trait, either.
Check out the current Rulebook FAQ ( http://www.games-workshop.com/resources/PDF/Errata/Warhammer_40000/Warhammer_40000_Rules_EN.pdf) disallows Independent Characters without Infiltrate joining a unit with Infiltrate during deployment. Tournaments can rule however they like, but RAW is that you would need to use up one of the "three units" choices on an IC you wanted to join the Tide.
Yup, with that FAQ I have to agree.
|
|
 |
 |
|