Switch Theme:

Question about Eldar formations  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I want to make sure I am understanding the new formations correctly, as I have seen a few lists and army reports where players are using the formations in a way that seems incorrect. The way the book seems to read is that to take the formations, along with their advantages, you have to take one Core Formation, one Auxillary, and may take up to three Command Formations. So essentially you have to take one of the Guardian formations or the Windrider Formation and one of the Auxillary formations or you do not receive the special rules that go along with the formations. It seems like these formations require games larger than 1500. Even 1850 will still require some concessions in order to fit what is needed into the list. Am I correct in my reading of this?
   
Made in us
Ancient Venerable Dark Angels Dreadnought





no, you can take any of the core formations at the back of the codex (after lords of War) by themselves and gain their benefits. You do, however, give up the 6" run bonus from taking a warhost formation first.

so you could take a wraith host formation by itself and gain it's special rules.
   
Made in gb
Emboldened Warlock




Widnes UK

If you want the bonus for the craftworld warhost (always 6" run) then yes you have to do what you said. However you can also take some of the formations separately, but not get the 6" run. You could use these in addition to your standard CAD, but they wont get ObjSec and the models in the formation don't take up slots in the CAD. These are the formations shown after the Avatar of Khaine entry. (I would give a page reference but I don't have the codex with me so I am working from memory)

Ulthwe: 7500 points 
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

As the others have stated, you can take any formations listed after the lords of war as their own detachments in any army, but the other auxiliary formations in the craftworld host (listed on p94/95) that DO NOT appear at the back of the book are only able to be taken as part of a craftworld warhost detachment.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Ok, that makes a lot more sense and makes the formations more viable.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Also, just taking the minimum stuff required for the craftworld warhost, you end up with less than 1k points, which leaves some room for customization even in smaller point games. If you're looking for games under 1k, then yeah, it doesn't work well for that.. But really, the game isn't designed for games that small.

There is NO SUCH THING as MORE ADVANCED in 40k!!! There are ONLY 2 LEVELS of RULES: Basic and Advanced. THE END. Stop saying "More Advanced". That is not a recognized thing in modern 40k!!!!
2500
3400
2250
3500
3300 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Still learning the rules for 7th edition, how do the formations work with the Force Org Chart? I'm thinking mainly of the Seer Council. Does that take up just one HQ spot? If not it seems that formation would right off the bat not be, I guess the phrase now used is "bound". You are needing to run three HQs to get it. It has been 5th Ed since I really played the game so a lot of these types of rules are completely new to me.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

mbutler132000 wrote:
Still learning the rules for 7th edition, how do the formations work with the Force Org Chart? I'm thinking mainly of the Seer Council. Does that take up just one HQ spot? If not it seems that formation would right off the bat not be, I guess the phrase now used is "bound". You are needing to run three HQs to get it. It has been 5th Ed since I really played the game so a lot of these types of rules are completely new to me.


"bound", "formation", and "detachment" do not work in the way you think they do it seems. "Force Org" are also a thing of the past and no longer exists (independently). They have been replaced by "Detachments".
You can take "detachments" OR "Formations" OR both. Here is a diagram and some explanation that might help:
 Jidmah wrote:
There is no limitation of what detachments/formations your army is made up from, unless those are imposed by the detachment itself. For example, you could not have two formations which force you to make on of its members your warlord.

See this picture for an example of a perfectly legal battleforged army:

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/06 11:59:02


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: